Home ] Up ]


News & Updates
McLeod #s-Track Info
Speedshots of The Week
Apparel, Bus Trips, ...
Race Rules & Specs
Auction & Trade Shows
Table of Contents
Bud Open LM Shootouts
Farley Speedway
West Liberty Raceway
Dubuque Speedway
Winnebago County


Boley dominates Farley, stays perfect in Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout action

FARLEY, Iowa (May 9, 2001) - Steve Boley stayed hot by sweeping his third straight Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout of the season at the Farley Speedway on Wednesday May 9th. The win netted the West Liberty Iowa veteran his second $6,000 check of the week as he lead every lap of both the Farley event and the one held at the Winnebago Co Fairgrounds Speedway event the previous evening. Sixty one Late Model drivers drew for starting positions in their heat races, which qualified them for the feature event using a system of passing points added to finishing positions.

Starting on the pole position after easily winning the RP Communications/NextTel Fast Dash, Boley jumped out the the lead ahead of Duke Whiseant at the start and never looked back. Several cautions early in the race combined with a very fast racetrack and high attrition allowed Boley to choose whichever line around the high-banked half mile he felt fastest, as he never was forced to deal with lapped traffic until the 44th lap, and never more than one car at a time. Jeff Aikey fought with Whiseant early in the 50 lap event, eventually getting the runner up position following a lap twelve restart. Whiseant held on to the third spot ahead of Darren Miller, Rick Wendling and Joe Kosiski. Billy Moyer finished seventh after qualifying through the consolation event and starting 20th with Curt Martin, Denny Eckrich and Jay Johnson rounding out the top 10.

Dan Schlieper topped the Non-Qualifiers Dash, earning a $1,000 for his 10-lap effort. Schlieper inherited the lead after early leader Monte Ohrt spun his car in the second corner. Kyle Berck came home a distant second ahead of Troy Bruder and Terry Neal.

Next up for the Budweiser Open Late Model Shootouts will be another double header on Tuesday June 12th when the Winnebago Co Fairgrounds will play host its second event and on Wednesday 13th when the action shifts to the high-banked clay oval of the Dubuque Speedway. Hot laps both evenings are scheduled for 6:45 with racing to follow.


1. 26 Steve Boley West Liberty IA
2. 77 Jeff Aikey Cedar Falls IA
3. a1 Duke Whiseant Texarkana AR
4. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
5. 78 Rick Wendling Hazelton IA
6. 53 Joe Kosiski Omaha NE
7. 21 Billy Moyer Batesville AR
8. 45 Curt Martin Independence IA
9. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville IA
10. 5 Jay Johnson West Burlington IA
11. 28 Dennis Erb Jr Carpentersville IL
12. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass IA
13. 00 Mitch Johnson Hickson ND
14. 12 Ray Guss Jr Milan IL
15. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
16. 18 Shannon Babb Decatur IL
17. 95 Ed Sanger Postville IA
18. 54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon IA
19. 7b Mark Burgtoff Quincy IL
20. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville IA
21. 10 Pete Parker Kaukana WI
22. 8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque IA
23. 15 Brian Birkhofer Muscatine IA
24. 1k John Anderson Omaha NE
25. 90 Mike Cothron Moline IL
26. 56x Chris Speiker Masena IA

1. s9 Dan Schlieper Pewaukee WI
2. 14 Kyle Berck Marquette NE
3. 37b Troy Bruder Rock Falls IL
4. 12n Terry Neal Ely IA
5. 3 Josh McGowan Vinton IA
6. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque IA
7. 21h Brian Harris Davenport IA
8. 52 Steve Kosiski Omaha NE
9. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike IA
10. 2 Monte Ohrt West Branch IA

53b LeRoy Brenner Davenport IA
3t Todd Davis Iowa City IA
78b Cory Best Waterloo IA
45k John Kresser Bridgeview IL
79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
87 Clint Hines Taylor Ridge IL
63 Rob Kirchner Donnellson IA
1m Rob Moss Iowa City IA
51 Matt Furman Iowa City IA
c9 Steve Casebolt Richmond IN
11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
99d Darrell DeFrance Marshalltown IA
33 Kurt Stewart Ainsworth IA
28 Jeff Bair Marion IA
70 Brandon Hennick Central City IA
51x Jody Wood Donnellson IA
3x Skip Frey Ely IA
t2 Todd Bennett Peoria IL
71 Don O’Neal Martinsville IN
8m Chuck Mayerhofer Dixon IL
32c Chad Holladay Wilton IA
13k Denny Petersen Tipton IA
41j Jeremiah Hurst Dubuque IA
99 Johnny Johnson West Burlington IA


Chapman Prefers NKF Tour Modified Results at Farley

Farley, Iowa – It was the difference between night and day; pavement and dirt; good luck and bad luck. Whatever comparison you want to use, Dan Chapman of Clarence preferred the results of the National Kidney Foundation Heartland Tour for a Cure Modified main event at the Farley Speedway Wednesday night. The night before, on the pavement at Hawkeye Downs in Cedar Rapids, Chapman spun in the final corner of the event while racing for second. On this night he held back the charges of Gus Hughes and Rich Smith to pick up his first Tour victory of 2001.

Chapman outran fellow front row starter Hughes to turn one at the start and those two, along with defending NKF Tour champion Ron Barker, set a blistering early pace. Rich Smith soon joined the leaders and moved into third when Barker’s right front wheel loaded up with mud. As the leaders continued their chase, many eyes were directed mid-pack where Corey Dripps was making an amazing run to the front. Dripps, who started twenty-seventh, was running above the cushion in the corners and was picking off cars at an alarming rate. When the caution waved with just three laps remaining, Dripps had moved all the way up to fifth in just twelve laps.

Hughes tried to make a pass on the inside of Chapman on the restart with Smith tucked in tight for third. Dripps found his high line blocked and dropped back to tenth. Chapman was able to hold back the challenge and as Hughes and Smith swapped the second position over the final two laps, Chapman cruised in for the victory. Hughes prevailed for runner-up honors with Smith, Darin Thye and Russ Olson, who started twelfth, completing the top five. Dripps received the Kosiski Racing Products "Hammer Down" award for his ninth place run.

The NKF Tour Modifieds now prepare for one of their biggest weekends ever with a trip to two tracks in Missouri. On Thursday and Friday, May 17th and 18th the Tour visits Callaway Raceway in Fulton for a $3,000-to-win event and on Saturday night the Modifieds will be looking for a $1,500 top prize at the Wheatland Raceway.

Results Heartland Tour Modifieds

1st Heat – 1. Russ Olson, Cedar Rapids 2. Rich Smith, Davenport 3. Casey Schram, Sterling IL 4. Bob Dominacki, Bettendorf

2nd Heat – 1. Scott Nesteby, Asbury 2. Jed Hurst, Dubuque 3. Bruce Hanford, Davenport 4. Gus Hughes, Monticello

3rd Heat – 1. Dan Chapman, Clarence 2. Robbie Verbeck, Annawan IL 3. Ron Barker, Dubuque 4. Darin Thye, Burlington

A-Main – 1. Chapman 2. Hughes 3. Smith 4. Thye 5. Olson 6. Dominacki 7. Nesteby 8. Hurst 9. Corey Dripps, Cedar Falls 10. Barker 11. Scott Megonigle, Cedar Rapids 12. Terry Lawson, New Liberty 13. Todd Schaufenbuel, New Hampton 14. Mel Saffran, Dubuque 15. Ramon Partida, West Liberty 16. Greg Chapman, Dubuque 17. Bart Miller, Clarence 18. Jason Schueller, Dubuque 19. John Bull, Rock Island IL 20. Chad Lerch, Lone Tree 21. Mark Schulte, Delhi 22. Hanford 23. Schram 24. Verbeck 25. John Fellman, Blue Grass 26. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon 27. Jason Veloz, Colona IL 28. Jamie Aikey, Cedar Falls DNS: Joey Kates, Kansas City KS




Car #



Darin Thye

Burlington IA




John Bull

Rock Island IL




Bob Dominacki

Bettendorf IA




Dan Chapman

Clarence IA




Bruce Hanford

Davenport IA




Jim Lynch

Bloomfield IA




Joey Kates

Kansas City KS




Tom Goble

Burlington IA




Rick Gustin

Marshalltown IA




Mark Elliott

Webster City IA




Jimmy Gustin

Marshalltown IA




Brad Waits

West Concord MN




Ron Barker

Dubuque IA




Ryan Dolan

Lisbon IA




Bart Miller

Clarence IA




Rich Smith

Davenport IA




Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
PO Box 10902
Cedar Rapids, IA 52410
Last modified: December 21, 2001

Hit Counter