SPI LogoBud Open Late Model Shootout Logo2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo


Eckrich takes first Dubuque win in Hy-Vee season opener

DUBUQUE, Iowa (April 29, 2001) - Denny Eckrich took home his first checkered flag of the season in NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model action, as part of the HyVee Season Opener at the Dubuque Speedway on Sunday April 29th. Scott Nesteby, Dan Shelliam, Larry Benn and Ray Fawcett also added trophies to their mantles during the preliminary feature events.

Eckrich drew the pole position alongside defending NASCAR Weekly Racing Series National Champion Gary Webb, with Darren Miller starting third in what appeared to be a recipe for a great race. Eckrich jumped out early, with Miller beating Webb into the first corner and getting underneath Eckrich just as the field came under caution at the end of the first lap. Not to be outsmarted twice, Webb got the jump on Miller on the restart and began pressuring Eckrich, taking the lead away one lap later. Using the bottom of the racetrack, Webb was able to stay in front of Eckrich until the two cars began encountering lapped traffic on the eleventh circuit. Eckrichís rim-riding line around the top of the racetrack proved faster, allowing him to not only pass Webb but run away from the rest of the pack during the final fourteen laps, Miller slipped to fourth by the checkers, behind Duane Coulson but just ahead of fifth place finisher Ryan Dolan.

Nesteby collected the Modified win after taking the lead away from Jason Schueller on lap fourth lap by hugging the bottom of the racetrack. Using the shorter way around the high-banked 3/8ís mile clay, Nesteby lead the final seventeen laps, but always under pressure from Rich Smith. Able to stay with the leader but unable to mount a challenge, Smith finished second ahead of Ron Barker, Mike Garland and Ryan Dolan. Dan Shelliam used his pole position start to lead every lap of the Pro Stocks, but was forced to defend his lead every single lap from a charging Jeff Tharp. Tharp was able to get underneath the high-riding Shelliam on every single lap, but was unable to make the bottom of the racetrack work for him, settling for second ahead of Jim Brokus, Jeff Valentine and Bobby Moyer. Larry Benn also lead every lap of the Bomber feature event while under constant barrage, but was able to take home the trophy ahead of Scott Riechers and Jerry Merkes. Ray Fawcett leapt from last to first on the initial Fun Car Feature lap to take home the victory over Chad Hallahan and BJ Schmitt.

Racing action continues this Sunday at the Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway, with hot laps for all five divisions of NASCAR stock cars scheduled for 6 pm and racing to follow. For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com.


50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
12 Ray Guss Jr Milan IL
77j Steve Johnson Camanche
35 Dave Englekens Clinton
8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque
33 Dan Galant Davenport
21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
95 Ed Sanger Postville
98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
b27 Bob Silaggi Freeport IL
b56 Brian Webb Davenport
17 Marty Scheckel Bellevue
11 Steve Ihm Hazel Green WI
2x Shane Metz Dike
41j Jeremiah Hurst Dubuque
66 Chris Miller
DNS 51 Mel Abels Freeport IL

74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
d1 Rich Smith Bettendorf
37b Ron Barker Dubuque
g1 Mike Garland Morrison IL
16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
63 Scott Olson
3 Jason Schueller Dubuque
27 Mike Schulte Norway
14 Tim Nesteby Dubuque
39 Bob Bollen Freeport IL
15 Sean Rupp Dubuque
b1 Jeffery Larson
2c Greg Chapman Dubuque
24m Jan Messer
1d Mel Saffran Dubuque
18b Josh Brestrup Dubuque
33 John Burbridge Delhi
20 Cory Burmiester Glen Haven WI
76 Matt Mish Cassville WI
5d Bob Dominacki Bettendof
4 Jerry Miles Dubuque
89 Tom Pestka Dubuque
41 Dennis Dugan
9 Mark Curwen Hazel Green WI
10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
DNQ 00 Cory Hallahan Dubuque
DNQ 33 Steve Wetter Platteville WI
DNQ 2 Tim Pettigout East Dubuque IL
DNQ 5 Ed Clancy Dubuque

16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque
25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
71 Bruce VanGordon Dubuque
2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
88 Randy Mills Dubuque
4 Kevin Duerr Dubuque
75 Duane Wagner Dickeyville WI
01 John Campbell Dubuque
20 Ty Kleiner Potosi WI
71s Kevin Schroeder Low Moor

1. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
2. 61 Scott Reichers Belmont WI
3. 8k Terry Merkes Farley
4. 97 Jeff Reinert Farley
5. 36 Tom Keiffer East Dubuque IL
6. 52 Pat Coleman Dubuque
7. 81 KC Ansel Dubuque
8. 6 Jed Freiburger Dubuque

1. 64 Ray Fawcett Shullsberg WI
2. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
3. 44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque
4. 6 Todd Moore Dubuque
5. 26 Brian Strang Dubuque
6. 20 Mike Wild
7. 66 Brad Strang Dubuque
8. 11 Ann Brown Dubuque


Copyright © 2001-2002 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
PO Box 10902
Cedar Rapids, IA 52410
Last modified: April 20, 2002

Hit Counter