The palace ballroom is a wonderful place for your reception. With room for 900, a dance floor and dj/band stage, full kitchen and elegant bar facilities, your event will be the talk of the town.

Back to article index
Shryock Pockets 10K at Farley Speedway Aftermarket Nationals
Posted on July 05, 2015 at 12:44:02 am
Farley, Iowa: The third annual Aftermarket Nationals featuring the Modified and Sportmod drivers brought a record number of entries to the Farley Speedway for two nights of racing July 2nd and 3rd. The Aftermarket Nationals follows the weekly IMCA rules for both classes with the exception of no crate engines allowed. All drivers must compete with race shop or home built engines, the event proved to be very successful as a record number of 62 drivers raced for the $10,000 first place prize money in the Modified division.

In the modified division, 16 heat races and 4 Consolations were run to qualify the starting 24 cars, in addition a 25th position was added and was awarded to the highest bidder through an auction. That position was secured by John Kleinsma for a winning bid of $1,050. The 50 lap feature took the green with Jordan Grabouski of Beatrice, Nebraska leading the star studded field for the first 11 laps. Early in the race several drivers were moving forward including 9 time United States Modified Touring Series Champion Kelly Shryock. The number 3 of Shryock started eighth and was running third when Grabouski dropped out with an electrical problem. Shryock went on to lead to the halfway mark on lap 25 when a scheduled fuel stop was held. During the break Shryock stated “my car feels great and as long as I can manage my tire wear and work through lapped traffic we will be good.” The final 25 laps saw Shryock do exactly that as he drove a perfect line through the middle of the smooth 3/8 mile dirt track. Shryock scored a comfortable win over Justin O’Brien, 20th place starter, Hunter Marriot of Brookfield, MO, was the big mover of the race as he advanced 17 positions to take third. Shryock commented in victory lane,” This is the biggest win my car owner has ever had, and I would also like to thank all the guys back at Skyrocket Chassis for all their hard work.”

In the companion division, IMCA Sportmods, the race was unfortunately determined at the scales during post race inspection. Apparent winner, Janae Gustin out raced 24 other drivers to take the checkers first in the 25 lap main event. Gustin took the lead early from Austin Moyer and went on to lead the remainder of the race only to be disqualified at the scales as she failed to make the minimum of 2,500 pound weight. The win was awarded to Moyer with Troy Bauer taking third.

The Engine Builders Challenge which featured the Modified drivers not qualified for the 50 lap main went to Marion, Iowa’s Patrick Flanagan.

Feature Results 3rd Annual Aftermarket Nationals Farley Speedway

Friday, July 3 Top Ten

Aftermarket Nationals 50 Lap Modified
1. Kelly Shryock-Fertile, Iowa $10,000
2. Justin O’Brien-West Union, IA
3. Hunter Marriott-Brookfield, MO
4. Jessie Dennis-Corning, IA
5. Zach Less-Manchester, IA
6. Brandon Rothzen-Gladstone, IL
7. Benji LaCrosse-Green Bay, WI
8. J.D. Auringer-Evansdale, IA
9. Jeff Larson-Freeport, IL
10. Brandon Wilson-Cuba City, WI

Engine Builders Challenge 20 Lap Modified
1. Patrick Flanagan-Marion, IA
2. Chris Zogg-New Liberty
3. RJ Gonzales-Silvis, IL
4. Kyle Kudick-Two Rivers, WI
5. David Brown-Kellogg, IA
6. Jon Snyder-Ames, IA
7. Joel Rust-Grundy Center, IA
8. Todd Dart-Algoma, WI
9. Colby Heishmann-Brooklyn, IA
10. Russ Reinwald-Beaver Dam, WI

Sportmod Aftermarket Nationals 25 Lap Feature
1. Austin Moyer-Dubuque, IA
2. Troy Bauer-Dubuque, IA
3. Ryan Schilling-Bernard, IA
4. Lucas Lundry-Maynard, IA
5. Jake Murphy-Dubuque, IA
6. Matt Short-Maquoketa, IA
7. Curt VanDerWall-Oskaloosa, IA
8. Brandon Schmitt-Beaver Dam, WI
9. Frank Packer-Hervey Bay, Queensland, Australia
10. Timmy Current-Bernard, IA

Back to article index