The palace ballroom is a wonderful place for your reception. With room for 900, a dance floor and dj/band stage, full kitchen and elegant bar facilities, your event will be the talk of the town.

Back to article index
Moyer Tames Tornado Tuesday at West Liberty Raceway
Posted on August 06, 2015 at 03:21:56 pm
Moyer Tames Tornado Tuesday at West Liberty

West Liberty, Iowa (August 4th, 2015) - Tornado Tuesday at West Liberty Raceway provided a fury of action throughout the entire evening. It was capped by an entertaining feature, and great run to the checkers, in the first ever Lucas Oil MLRA event sanctioned at the Simmons Promotions Inc. ˝ mile oval. Billy Moyer fired from the DirtonDirt.com pole and set the pace the entire way for his 40th career Lucas Oil MLRA victory.

"I feel like we've had a real good combination on some short tracks, but I haven't run on a lot of these big tracks with it," commented Moyer of his new Victory Race Car. "We threw some stuff at it and it worked. I'm just not real familiar with the car yet, but I couldn't have been happier with it."

Moyer, originally from Iowa, reminisced about a career that began just a couple of hours away.

"I never believed we'd win that many races. Starting out a little kid here in Des Moines, starting out in an old '71 Camaro. It's good to be back around the family there in Des Moines, and my uncle there getting hooked up with him, and building these cars just puts some enjoyment back in it again."

Lapped traffic was the only thing to slow Moyer's blistering pace. Mike Marlar, started seventh and worked his way forward. On the lap 23 restart, he forged ahead to second and on more than one occasion threatened to take the lead. Marlar ended second, but gave it everything he had.

"I just needed him to mess up and guys knocking on 800 wins don't mess up much," commented Marlar on what it would have taken to top Moyer. "We had a good run. We was probably pretty close on speed. We just couldn't get around him. I love coming out to Iowa here because man, you've got some really fast race tracks, and it's pretty cool to get to go that fast and everybody race that good."

Chris Simpson had a tough evening with engine heating issues Monday, but those problems weren't as significant Tuesday. After running in the second position early in the feature, he settled into third a few car lengths back of Marlar. Simpson crossed the finish line with the final podium spot.

"I just got a little tight in and the motor started running a little hot. On these lap cars you have to take advantage right away. I kind of slowed up, and Mikey dove on me there and got by me. Overall its a good night."

Casey's General Stores Hard Charger honors went to JC Wyman. He advanced to 10th after rolling off the starting grid 22nd. Only one yellow, just prior to the race's halfway point, slowed the field. Jake O'Neil and Chad Simpson had mechanical issues during hot laps and neither were able to continue the rest of the evening. The iWireless IMCA Late Models were the companion division on Tuesday night and the 30 lap feature was a real thriller. Justin Kay erased a large lead by Dubuque, Iowa’s Joel Callahan in the last 5 laps and set up a last lap charge that resulted in another feature win for the defending IMCA National Late Model Champion. Kay only led one lap but it was the one that counted as he took the checkers by a car length ahead of Callahan. Jonathan Brauns took third on Tuesday night.

West Liberty Raceway Contingency Awards 8/4/15
Andy's Frozen Custard Victory Lane - Billy Moyer
AR Bodies - Brad Stewart
Casey's General Stores Hard Charger - JC Wyman
DirtOnDirt.com Pole Winner - Billy Moyer
Hooker Harness 11th Place - Terry Phillips
KRC Hard Luck - Jake O'Neil
RacingJunk.com Hard Luck - Jake O'Neil
Landrum Springs Race Winner - Billy Moyer
Fast Track Photos - Billy Moyer
Performance Bodies Performer of the Race - Billy Moyer
RaceNote Crew Chief of the Race - Steve Norris
Real Racing Wheels - Spencer Diercks
Sunoco Rookie of the Race - RC Whitwell
Wehrs Machine - JC Wyman

Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (50 Laps): 1. Billy Moyer 2. Mike Marlar 3. Chris Simpson 4. Tim McCreadie 5. Gregg Satterlee 6. Justin Kay 7. Jason Feger 8. Denny Eckrich 9. RC Whitwell 10. JC Wyman 11. Terry Phillips 12. Mike Fryer 13. Ray Guss Jr. 14. Chad Holladay 15. Chase Junghans 16. Jesse Stovall 17. Ryan Gustin 18. Austin Siebert 19. Jason Utter 20. Dave Eckrich 21. Spencer Diercks 22. Jason O' Brien 23. Andy Eckrich 24. Joel Callahan

Impact Signs, Awnings, Wraps B Feature (12 Laps): 1. Terry Phillips 2. Justin Kay 3. Dave Eckrich 4. Jason O'Brien 5. Austin Siebert 6. JC Wyman 7. Brad Stewart 8. Joel Callahan 9. Wayne Brau

Hoosier Racing Tires Heat #1 (10 Laps): 1. Dave Eckrich 2. Ray Guss Jr. 3. Mike Fryer 4. RC Whitwell 5. Jesse Stovall 6. Dave Eckrich 7. Jason O'Brien 8. Justin Kay 9. JC Wyman 10. Chad Holladay

RacingJunk.com Heat #2 (10 Laps): 1. Billy Moyer 2. Mike Marlar 3. Jason Feger 4. Chase Junghans 5. Jason Utter 6. Andy Eckrich 7. Wayne Brau 8. Austin Siebert 9. Jeremy Payne 10. Joel Callahan

G2 Gemini Custom Apparel Heat #3 (10 Laps): 1. Tim McCreadie 2. Chris Simpson 3. Gregg Satterlee 4. Ryan Gustin 5. Spencer Diercks 6. Terry Phillips 7. Brad Stewart 8. Skip Frey 9. Jake O'Neil - DNS 10. Chad Simpson – DNS

iWireless IMCA Late Model 30 lap Feature (top 10)
Justin Kay-Wheatland
Joel Callahan-Dubuque
Jonathan Brauns-Muscatine
Kevin Kile-West Liberty
Kyle Hinrichs-Swisher
Jay Johnson-West Burlington
Rob Moss-Iowa City
Joe Zrostlik-Long Grove
Tyler Bruehning-Decorah
Ryan Dolan-Lisbon

Back to article index