SPI Logo


2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

Open Late Model Shootouts 2001Results
April 13 Davenport


Sixty seven Late Models signed in for the first Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout of the season, with Steve Boley collecting the $6,000 victory check for his 50-lap effort. Boley just missed a clean sweep after finishing second in his heat and winning the Cutting Edge Fast Dash to earn the right to start on the pole.

Boley jumped to the early lead ahead of outside front row starter Dave Eckrich but found himself battling fifth place starter Rick Aukland after a lap two restart. Boley set sail with a clear track in front of him to open up a eight car length advantage, but found that erased when the caution again slowed the field on lap nine. This time Aukland was able to stay with Boley, shadowing his every move until gaining the top spot on lap fifteen. Aukland then stretched his own lead on the clear track until the 22nd circuit when he began encountering lapped traffic. That traffic allowed not only Boley but Jeff Aikey and Dan Schlieper to close in on the leader. Swapping the lead at least twice in lapped traffic, Boley and Aukland battled around the flat half mile while trying to protect the bottom groove of the racetrack. Not until lap 27 when the two leaders cleared the slower cars did Boley clearly reestablish his lead, pulling ahead to a ten car length advantage that remained constant throughout the final twenty laps. Aukland held on to the second spot while a fierce battle raged between Schlieper and Aikey for third. Schlieper tried to dive low in the final corner of the race but was forced to check up after failing to complete the pass on Aikey.

Rick Wendling and Ryan Dolan excited fans in the Auto Acres Non-Qualifiers Feature event after early leader Curt Martin made a miscue by tagging an implement tire that ended his evening. Dolan inherited the lead but quickly had to battle Wendling, finally relenting the spot after several challenges halfway through the event. Todd Davis, Jeff Bair and Steve Johnson rounded out the top five.

Heat races saw plenty of action with Duane Coulson, Ed Kosiski, Aukland, Darren Miller, Joe Kosiski and Dave Eckrich each picking up wins. Drivers were awarded points not only for their finishing position but also the number of cars they passed, which would be used to determine the lineups for the 6-lap Cutting Edge Fast Dash and the 50 lap Budweiser Open Shootout.

The next Budweiser Open Late Model Shootouts scheduled will be a double header on May 8th and 9th. The Winnebago County Fairgrounds in Pecatonica, Illinios will host auto racing for the first time in 22 years on Tuesday May 8th while the Farley Speedway in Farley Iowa will host its second Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout on Wednesday May 9th. Dan Schlieper will be defending his victory in last years event, which saw him win by less than two feet over Gary Webb, with Joe Kosiski, Steve Boley and Billy Moyer rounding out the top five. For more information you can contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or on the web at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com.

Budwieser Open Late Model Shootout 50 lap feature

1. 26 Steve Boley West Liberty IA
2. 12 Rick Aukland Fargo ND
3. 77 Jeff Aikey Cedar Falls IA
4. s9 Dan Schlieper Pewaukee WI
5. 53 Joe Kosiski Omaha NE
6. 35 Ed Kosiski Omaha NE
7. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass IA
8. 18 Shannon Babb Decauter IL
9. 8 Sonny Findling Kirksville MO
10. 15 Brian Birkhofer Muscatine IA
11. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
12. 12g Ray Guss Jr Milan IL
13. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville IA
14. 12n Terry Neal Ely IA
15. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville IA
16. 1k John Anderson, Omaha NE
17. 21h Brian Harris, Davenport
18. 99 Johnny Johnson West Burlington IA
19. 51 Matt Furman Iowa City IA
20. 5 Jay Johnson West Burlington IA
21. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
22. 52 Steve Kosiski Omaha NE
23. 75 Billy Tuckwell Peoria IL
24. 3s Brad Stewart
25. 3x Skip Frey Ely IA
26. 37 Rollie Frink Davenport IA


1. Rick Wendling Halzelton IA
2. Ryan Dolan Lisbon IA
3. 3t Todd Davis Iowa City IA
4. 28 Jeff Bair Solon IA
5. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche IA
6. 88 Kevin Kile West Liberty IA
7. 14 Jim Partipilo Elmhurst IL
8. 33g Dan Galant Clinton IA
9. 33 Kurt Stewart Ainsworth IA
10. 45 Curt Martin Independance IA


35 David Englekens, Clinton IA
1m Rob Moss, Iowa City IA
63 Rob Kirchner, Donnellson IA
07 Scott Heeren Forreston IL
32j Jason Jagger Wyanet IL
17 Marty Scheckel Bellvue IA
8m Mark Ward, Muscatine IA
40 Andrew Schooley Davenport IA
77 Kurt Kile, West Liberty IA
69 Todd Hormel, West Liberty IA
3 Mike Collins, Omaha NE
28 Sean Blue Blandinsville IL
T2 Todd Bennett Peoria IL
52x Tim Lance Mapleton IL
13k Denny Petersen, Tipton
32 Tom Cannon, Iowa City IA
78h Jason Hoscheidt Nehawka NE
32c Chad Holladay Wilton IA
58x Steve Morgan Freeport IL
57 Tim Hamburg Dixon IL
25t Marty Thompson
26b Wayne Brau, Annawan, IL
ez33 Nick Marolf, Moscow IL
11 Steve Ihm Hazel Green WI
25 Steve Lance Cuba IL
31 Brian Morgan, Muscatine IA
18p Randy Peppers Davenport IA
166 Joe Izzo Bridgeview IL
37b Troy Bruder Rock Falls IL
25x Mike Beuter Tipton IA
2 Monte Ohrt, West Branch IA

Copyright 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter