SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


July 22, 2001

Denny Eckrich picked up his second straight NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature win at the Dubuque Speedway.  The win ties defending track Champion Gary Webb with four checkers each for the season and tightens the battle between the two in the season long points battle. 

Starting the race tenth, Eckrich benefited from two early cautions that kept leader Brian Webb in sight while fighting through traffic.  When racing resumed after the second caution on lap two, Eckrich rocketed from fifth place into third, running down the leader two laps later.  Quickly disposing of Brian Webb, Eckrich set sail on the topside of the racetrack as all eyes turned to Gary Webb’s charge through the field.   Unable to mount the same attack, Gary settled in by picking cars off one at a time from twelfth, but got hung up on lap eight when he encountered Terry Neal in fourth place.  Gary struggled with Neal, looking high and low for a chance to pass, until the 21st circuit when he found an opening on the bottom of the racetrack.  Without a caution after the second lap, Eckrich checked out on the field, opening up as much as a quarter lap lead on the second place car of Mark Merfeld before encountering lapped traffic late in the race.  The slower cars did little to change the outcome as Eckrich crossed the line ahead of Merfeld, Gary Webb, Neal and Darren Mish.   

Ryan Dolan broke his recent streak of second place finishes by taking home the top honors in the Modified main event.  The points leader started the race in the twelfth position and quickly worked his way to the front, aided by contact and a spin by the second and third place cars of Scott Nesteby and Rich Smith.   Lining up third, behind leader Mike Burbridge and alongside the second place car of Josh Brestrup, Dolan first challenged for the lead on the restart, but was only able to stay in Burbridge’s shadow until lap thirteen, when he slid underneath and into the lead.  Unchallenged for the remainder of the 20 lap event, Dolan led Jason Schueller and Burbridge across the stripe.  Ron Barker finished fourth after borrowing Jason Walrack’s car for the feature event and starting on the rear of the field. 

Brian Culberston parlayed his pole position into a Pro Stock feature win.  Culbertson was aided by heavy attrition during the fifteen lap event, but was never challenged for the top spot.  Dan Shelliam crossed underneath the checkers second ahead of Jeff Tharp and Jeff Kennedy, while Jeff Valentine inherited fifth place when Kevin Duerr’s car was disqualified in post race inspection for having an illegal carburetor.  Duane Ahmann topped a slam bang Hobby Stock feature after taking the lead away from Jarvis Eastlick ina three way slugfest for the lead with Larry Benn on the sixth lap.  Benn held on for second ahead of Jerry Miles, Terry Merkes and TJ Leslein.  Brad Strang topped brother Brian for the Fun Car feature win, ahead of Chad Hallahan and Ray Fawcett.   

Race fans get a double dose of action at the Dubuque Speedway this week as the 48th Annual Dubuque County Fair plays host to NASCAR Weekly Racing Series action on both Wednesday July 25th and Sunday July 29th.  Both events will start one half hour later than the usual time, with hot laps taking the track at 6:30 and racing action at 7 pm.  Highlights from all SPI promoted events are shown on the Race Report on Fox 28/40 Sunday mornings at 10:30 am.  For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com    

1. 50  Denny Eckrich  Coralville
2. 8    Mark Merfeld  Dubuque
3. 56  Gary Webb  Blue Grass
4. 12n  Terry Neal  Ely
5. 79  Darren Mish  Cassville WI
6. 87  Clint Hines  Taylor Ridge IL
7. b56  Brian Webb  Davenport
8. 6   Mark Curwen  Hazel Green WI
9. 21 Luke Merfeld  Dubuque
10. 44  Duane Coulson  East Dubuque IL
11. 77j  Steve Johnson  Camanche
12. 41j Jeremiah Hurst  Dubuque
13. 95  Ed Sanger  Postville
14. 9  Curt Hansen  Dike
15. 35  Dave Englekens  Clinton   
16. 27  Ed McGuire Monroe WI
17. 17  Marty Scheckel  Bellevue 
18. 51  Mel Abels  Freeport IL
19. b27  Bob Silaggi  Freeport IL
20. 11  Ace Ihm  Hazel Green WI
21. 54  Ryan Dolan Lisbon
22. 37  Rollie Frink  Davenport
23. 32d  Darren Miller  Chadwick IL
24. 98.1  Bobby Hansen  Dike
25. 1b  Kevin Miller  Freeport IL
26. 61r  Jon Rogers  Freeport IL 

1. 16  Ryan Dolan  Lisbon
2. 3  Jason Schueller  Dubuque
3. 11  Mike Burbridge  Delhi
4. 14w  Ron Barker  Dubuque
5. 10  Jed Hurst  Hazel Green WI
6. 18b  Josh Brestrup  Dubuque
7. 4  Jerry Miles  Dubuque
8. 63  Scott Olson  Preston
9. d1  Rich Smith  Davenport
10. 33w  Steve Wetter  Platteville WI
11. 27  Mark Schulte  Delhi
12. 00  Cory Hallahan  Dubuque
13. 33  John Burbridge  Delhi 
14. 39  Bob Bollen  Freeport IL
15. 24m  Jan Messer  Manchester 
16. 15  Sean Rupp  Dubuque
17. 20  Cory Burmeister  Glen Haven WI
18. 50  Jim Burbridge  Delhi
19. 5d  Bob Dominacki  Bettendorf
20. 74  Scott Nesteby  Asbury

14  Tim Nesteby  Dubuque 
14w  Tim Walrack  

1. 18  Brian Culbertson  Dubuque
2. 16  Dan Shelliam  Hazel Green WI
3. 12  Jeff Tharp  Dubuque
4. 2k  Jeff Kennedy  Dubuque
5. 22  Jeff Valentine  Dubuque
6. 20  Ty Kleiner  Potosi WI
7. 71  Bruce VanGordon  Dubuque
8. 75  Duane Wagner  Dickeyville WI
9. 21  Dan  Welp  East Dubuque IL
10. 35  Jim Brokus  Dubuque
11. 25 Bobby Moyer  Dubuque
12. 71s  Kevin Schroeder  Low Moor
13. 88  Duane Roth  Dubuque

43g  Tom Garner East Dubuque IL

 4  Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL

1. 98  Duane Ahmann  Epworth 
2. 13  Larry Benn  Dyersville
3. 23m  Jerry Miles Dubuque
4. 8k  Terry Merkes  Farley
5. 38  TJ Leslein  Durango
6. 59  Mike Hughes  Galena IL
7. 61  Scott Reichers  Belmont WI
8. 97  Jeff Reinert  Farley
9. 52  Pat Coleman Dubuque
10. 20  Dan Albright  Lisbon
11. 6  Jed Freiburger  Dubuque
12. 11  Jason Brimeyer  Dubuque
13. 30 Mark Massey Farley
14. 81  KC Ansel  Dubuque
15. 33  Jim Turpin  Shullsberg WI
16. 71  Jon Gulick 
17. 1  Tom Boyes  Dubuque

20x  Jarvis  Eastlick  Platteville WI

1. 66  Brad Strang  Dubuque
2. 26  Brian Strang  Dubuque
3. 7  Chad Hallahan  Dubuque
4. 64  Ray Fawcett Benton WI
5. 98  Jerry Turpin  Platteville WI
6. 6  Todd Moore  Dubuque
7. 20  Mike Wild  Dubuque
8. 11  Ann Brown  Dubuque
9. 44 BJ Schmitt  Dubuque
10. 70  Lance Mish  Cassville WI

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter