SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


Stealth Race Cars Night
May 13, 2001

Defending NASCAR Weekly Racing Series National Champion Gary Webb broke out of his early season slump by picking up his first Late Model checkered flag of the season at the Dubuque Speedway on Sunday May 13th. Bob Dominacki and Skip Culbertson also picked up their first wins in Modified and Pro Stock action with Jerry Merkes and Ray Fawcett taking home Hobby Stock and Fun Car honors.

Luke Merfeld jumped into the early lead in the 25-lap Late Model feature event by diving underneath pole sitter Bob Silaggi on the opening lap. Ninth and eleventh place starters Darren Miller and Webb began their charge towards the front by using the same groove on the bottom, finding the second and third positions by the end of the third lap. Webb switched to the top as they closed in on Merfeld, with a three-car battle for the lead unfolding on lap five. Merfeld held the middle of the racetrack while Miller showed his nose underneath and Webb occupied the cushion. Sweeping around both cars at once, Webb took over the lead on lap six and never looked back. Miller gave chase on bottom but was unable to challenge for the lead before a lap 20 caution slowed the pack. Darren Mish and Denny Eckrich used the double file restart to their advantage, with the pair battling it out from deep in the pack for the third spot. Eckrich prevailed late in the race ahead of Mish and Ryan Dolan.

Bob Dominacki used his outside front row starting spot to secure the lead of the Modified feature, but was forced to defend his position almost every lap against a multitude of drivers. Jason Schueller was the first to challenge for the lead, sneaking his car underneath Dominackiís following a lap two restart but unable to complete the pass before the racing action was halted for a nasty looking rollover involving Jeff Larson on lap five. Larson emerged from his battered racecar shaken but otherwise unharmed. When racing continued, Rich Smith jumped ahead of Schueller looking for the lead. Giving heavy pressure for a few laps before being forced to defend the second spot from Schueller, Smith was given a reprieve when Schueller pitted with a flat right front tire during a lap fourteen caution flag. The restart allowed Ron Barker to move within striking distance as the battle once again turned into a three-way fight for the lead. Barker was able to split the cars of Dominacki and Smith and mount a challenge for the lead, but was unable to complete the pass on the bottom of the racetrack as the laps wound down. Following Barker across the line in third was Smith, ahead of Scott Nesteby and Mike Garland.

Pro Stock action saw Skip Culbertson inherit the lead on a lap three caution as Duane Wagner retired to the pit area with mechanical problems. Culbertson then spent the next twelve laps with Jeff Valentine glued to his rear bumper, but was able to stay in the lead with a slightly higher, faster line around the high-banked 3/8ís mile clay oval. Surviving Valentineís only attempt at the lead as the pair entered the first corner for the final time; Culbertson went on to post his first victory of the season ahead of Valentine, Kevin Duerr, Tommy Garner and Jim Brokus. Jerry Merkes survived a race long battle with runner-up Jeff Reinert to post the Hobby Stock feature win ahead of Jason Udelhofen, Larry Benn and KC Ansel while Ray Fawcett stayed perfect in Fun Car action, taking home his second feature win ahead of Brian Strang and BJ Schmitt.

Racing action continues this Sunday at the Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway, with hot laps for all five divisions of NASCAR stock cars scheduled for 6 pm and racing to follow. For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com.

May 13th , 2000

1. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
2. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
3. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
4. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
5. 54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
6. 35 Dave Englekens Clinton
7. 87 Clint Hines Taylor Ridge IL
8. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
9. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
10. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
11. 27 Ed McGuire Monroe WI
12. b27 Bob Silaggi Freeport IL
13. b56 Brian Webb Davenport
14. 17 Marty Scheckel Bellevue
15. 33 Dan Galant Davenport
16. 11 Steve Ihm Hazel Green WI
17. 51 Mel Abels Freeport IL
18. 8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque

1. 5d Bob Dominacki Bettendorf
2. 37b Ron Barker Dubuque
3. d1 Rich Smith Bettendorf
4. 74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
5. g1 Mike Garland Morrison IL
6. 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
7. 3 Jason Schueller Dubuque
8. 2 Tim Pettigout East Dubuque IL
9. 4 Jerry Miles Dubuque
10. 41 Dennis Dugan Colesburg
11. 89 Tom Pestka Dubuque
12. 14 Tim Nesteby Dubuque
13. 15 Sean Rupp Dubuque
14. 10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
15. 00 Cory Hallahan Dubuque
16. 18b Josh Brestrup Dubuque
17. 39 Bob Bollen Freeport IL
18. 27 Mike Schulte Norway
19. 20 Cory Burmiester Glen Haven WI
20. 63 Scott Olson
21. b1 Jeffery Larson Freeport IL
22. 33 Steve Wetter Platteville WI
23. 76 Matt Mish Cassville WI
24. 33 John Burbridge Delhi
25. 24m Jan Messer
26. 1d Mel Saffran Dubuque

1. 18 Skip Culbertson Dubuque
2. 22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque
3. 4 Kevin Duerr Dubuque
4. 43g Tom Garner East Dubuque IL
5. 35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
6. 25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
7. 71s Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
8. 71 Bruce VanGordon Dubuque
9. 88 Randy Mills Dubuque
10. 23 Jim Amos Peosta
11. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
12. 75 Duane Wagner Dickeyville WI
13. 78 Bobby Goerdt Dubuque
14. 12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
15. 2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque

1. 8k Terry Merkes Farley
2. 97 Jeff Reinert Farley
3. 23 Jason Udelhofen Platteville WI
4. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
5. 81 KC Ansel Dubuque
6. 6 Jed Freiburger Dubuque
7. 52 Pat Coleman Dubuque
8. 20 Dan Albright West Liberty
9. 61 Scott Reichers Belmont WI
38 TJ Leslein Dubuque
28 Ed McIntyre Dyersville

1. 64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI
2. 26 Brian Strang Dubuque
3. 44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque
4. 66 Brad Strang Dubuque
5. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
6. 6x Jeff Arensdorf Dubuque
7. 11 Ann Brown Dubuque
8. 20 Mike Wild

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter