SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


May 27, 2001

Gary Webb posted his second NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature win of the season at the Dubuque Speedway on Sunday, May 27th, but couldn’t increase his point lead much over Denny Eckrich.

Front row starters Mark Merfeld and Brian Webb stayed in doublewide formation at the drop of the green while Webb and Eckrich began picking off traffic from the sixth row. Eckrich initially held the advantage over the defending NASCAR Weekly Racing Series National Champion, running in the fifth spot when the first caution flag slowed the pace. The restart proved to be a boon for Webb, as he took advantage of the bunched up cars to shoot from seventh into third on the restart; Eckrich followed after getting passed, settling in to the fourth position. Webb just began closing in on the lead pair of Merfeld and his son Brian Webb when the event’s only other caution flag flew on lap ten. Wasting no time, Gary split the leaders on the restart to take the lead. Eckrich had a slightly more difficult time, racing alongside Merfeld until lap seventeen, when he cleared the second place car and began closing in on the leader. Quickly eliminating Webb’s advantage, Eckrich first looked for the lead on lap 20, but failed in several attempts to dive underneath before lapped traffic came into play, allowing Webb to cruise to a two car-length victory over Eckrich. Luke Merfeld followed Eckrich on the low side of the racetrack late in the race to charge to third, ahead of his brother Mark and Ryan Dolan.

Ron Barker topped Modified action in what appeared to be an easy cruise after taking the lead away from Scott Olson, who was nursing a sick-sounding motor around the high-banks. What made Barker’s journey to victory lane more interesting is that earlier in the evening he developed engine problems of his own, forcing him to return to his shop and swap power plants after the evening had begun. Gone less than 40 minutes, Barker returned just in time for his first race of the evening. Starting the feature event in the twelfth spot, Barker benefited from several attempts to get the race underway as several multi-car tangles improved his starting position. Running fourth at the end of the first completed lap, Barker took the lead away from Olson on lap seven and was never challenged as the race stayed green for the final nineteen laps.

Jim Brokus and Jeff Tharp waged war for the fifteen lap Pro Stock feature event, with Tharp occupying the cushion and Brokus using the short way around on the inside of the racetrack. They swapped the top spot several times during the event, with Brokus eventually emerging as the victor by a few car lengths. Ty Kleiner, Dan Shelliam and Jeff Valentine rounded out the top five. TJ Leslein led every lap of the Hobby Stocks to post his first victory of the season over Pat Coleman and Scott Riechers. Chad Hallahan took home the Fun Car honors ahead of Brian Strang and Ray Fawcett.

Racing action continues this Sunday June 3rd at the Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway, with hot laps for all five divisions of NASCAR stock cars scheduled for 6 pm and racing to follow. For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com.

1 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
2 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
3 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
4 8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque
5 54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
6 33 Dan Galant Davenport
7 78 Rick Wendling Hazelton
8 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
9 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
10 87 Clint Hines Taylor Ridge IL
11 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
12 95 Ed Sanger Postville
13 b56 Brian Webb Davenport
14 35 Dave Englekens Clinton
15 27 Ed McGuire Monroe WI
16 41j Jeremiah Hurst Dubuque
17 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
18 b27 Bob Silaggi Freeport IL
19 6 Jay Chenoweth Wapello
20 2x Shane Metz Dike
21 17 Marty Scheckel Bellevue
22 15 Cameron Granger West Union
23 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
24 71 Tom Shoney Freeport IL
25 69 Todd Hormel West Liberty


1 37b Ron Barker Dubuque
2 5d Bob Dominacki Bettendorf
3 63 Scott Olson Preston
4 g1 Mike Garland Morrison IL
5 74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
6 10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
7 89 Tom Pestka Dubuque
8 d1 Rich Smith Bettendorf
9 33 Steve Wetter Platteville WI
10 55 Scott Stecher Muscatine
11 4 Jerry Miles Dubuque
12 41 Dennis Dugan Delhi
13 15 Sean Rupp Dubuque
14 1d Mel Saffran Dubuque
15 39 Bob Bollen Freeport IL
16 b1 Jeffery Larson Freeport IL
17 18b Josh Brestrup Dubuque
18 33 John Burbridge Delhi
19 27x John Fredrick Lancaster WI
20 00 Cory Hallahan Dubuque
21 76 Matt Mish Cassville WI
22 27 Mark Schulte Delhi
23 64 Bret Frieden Cedar Rapids
24 3 Jason Schueller Dubuque
25 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
26 2c Greg Chapman Dubuque
24d Daron Oberbrockling
20 Cory Burmiester Glen Haven WI
24m Jan Messer
5 Ed Clancy Dubuque
50 Jim Burbridge Delhi
18 Wade Steinman
9z Mike Zogg New Liberty
0 Jeremy English
71 Grover Webber III


1 35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
2 12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
3 20 Ty Kleiner Potosi WI
4 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
5 22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque
6 2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
7 71s Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
8 71 Bruce VanGordon Dubuque
9 91 Rich Pica Praire Du Chein
10 18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
11 4 Kevin Duerr Dubuque
12 43g Tom Garner East Dubuque IL
13 9m Jody Metzger Muscatine
14 75 Duane Wagner Dickeyville WI
15 25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
16 88 John Ward Dubuque
17 78 Bobby Goerdt Dubuque
18 90 Bo Richard Platteville WI
19 23 Jim Amos Peosta
20 56 Jamie Pfieffer


1. 38 TJ Leslein Dubuque
2. 52 Pat Coleman Dubuque
3. 61 Scott Reichers Belmont WI
4. 30 Mark Massey Farley
5. 98 Duane Ahman Epworth
6. 8k Terry Merkes Farley
7. 23 Jason Udelhofen Platteville WI
8. 0 Matt Bodman Muscatine
9. 97 Jeff Reinert Farley
10. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
11. 20x Jarvis Eastlink
12. 81 KC Ansel Dubuque
13. 28 Ed McIntyre Delhi
14. 21 Todd Hansen Muscatine


1. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
2. 26 Brian Strang Dubuque
3. 64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI
4. 66 Brad Strang Dubuque
5. 12 Jeremey Gangler Lancaster WI
6. 20 Mike Wild Dubuque
7. 11 Ann Brown Dubuque
8. 44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque
9. 6 Todd Moore Dubuque
10. 43 Jason Honshell
11. 89 Kelly Welter Farley

Ron Barker and Daughter Laura


Jim Brokus & Family


T J Leslein - First Time Winner

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter