SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


Farley Iowa
June 15, 2001

Jeff Aikey extended his points lead with his fourth NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature win of the season at the Farley Speedway on Friday June 15th.

Starting the race in eleventh, Aikey wasted no time marching to the front of the 20-car field; advancing into the fifth spot when the event’s first caution flag slowed the field. Utilizing double-file restarts, Aikey dove underneath pole sitter Jeremiah Hurst one lap after the restart to take the lead. Uncontested for the remainder of the race, Aikey watched Terry Neal inherit second on lap ten when Dave Eckrich succumbed to mechanical difficulties. Although able to pull up to Aikey’s rear bumper several times due to late race cautions, Neal was unable to mount a challenge, finishing ten car lengths behind the leader. Rick Wendling finished another ten car lengths back in third, leading Duane Coulson and Josh McGowan underneath the checkers.

Ron Barker became the first Modified driver to post his second win of the season in a dominate performance slowed only once by cautions. Starting eighth, Barker was able to put his car three wide down the backstretch on the first lap to advance several positions, continuing his charge underneath the rest of the pack until he had the lead on lap three. Ryan Dolan took the more patient route to the front from his ninth place, advancing into second on lap nine when Dan Chapman retired to the pits. Without a caution to slow the field, Dolan was unable to give Barker a challenge, finishing second ahead of Steve Wetter, Rich Smith and Jed Hurst.

Dan Shelliam utilized a lap six restart to post the Pro Stock victory over Jeff Tharp. Ty Kleiner took off from his pole position to lead the first five laps, watching his 15 car length lead disappear with the first display of the yellow flag. Tharp capitalized on the caution period by taking the lead away on the restart, with Shelliam also sneaking underneath. One more lap of green flag racing was completed before the next caution, allowing Shelliam the break he needed. Taking the lead on the restart and not looking back, Shelliam led Tharp, John Maher, Jim Brokus and Kevin Schroeder across the finish line. TJ Leslein took home his third straight Hobby Stock feature win ahead of Duane Ahmann and Jeff Reinert. Russ Yonkovic returned to post the Fun Car feature win ahead of Chad Hallahan and Chris Hinrichs.

Regular racing action continues this Friday, June 22nd at the Farley Speedway. Hot laps are scheduled for 7 pm with racing to follow. For more information contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com. For raceday updates and quick results afterwards, call your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory, category 3740 and 3741.

Late Models
1. 77 Jeff Aikey Cedar Falls
2. 12n Terry Neal Ely
3. 78 Rick Wendling Hazelton
4. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
5. 3 Josh McGowan Vinton
6. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
7. 51 Matt Furman Iowa City
8. 70 Brandon Hennick Central City
9. 95 Ed Sanger Postville
10. 8m Chuck Mayerhofer Dixon IL
11. 37b Troy Bruder Rock Falls IL
12. 69 Todd Hormel West Liberty
13. 41j Jeremiah Hurst Dubuque
14. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
15. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville
16. 15 Cam Granger West Union
17. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
18. 27 Ed McGuire Monroe WI
19. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque

1. 37b Ron Barker Dubuque
2. 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
3. 33 Steve Wetter Platteville WI
4. d1 Rich Smith Bettendorf
5. 10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
6. 96 Larry Herring Lone Tree
7. 00 Josh Vinnedge Forreston IL
8. d55 Scott Lemke Davis Junction IL
9. 30 Gus Hughes Monticello
10. 11 Mike Burbridge Delhi
11. 14w Jason Walrack
12. 50 Jim Burbridge Delhi
13. b3 Russ Olson Cedar Rapids
14. b1 Jeff Larson Freeport IL
15. 33x John Burbridge Delhi
16. 1 Dan Chapman Clarence
17. 57 Dennis Betzer Central City
18. 74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
19. 2c Greg Chapman Dubuque

1. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
2. 12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
3. 69 John Maher West Branch
4. 35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
5. 71 Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
6. 17s Dana Servoy Marion
7. 20 Ty Kleiner Potosi WI
8. s1 Steve Hunter Hopkinton
9. 23 Jim Amos Peosta
10. 25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
11. 2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
12. 22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque
13. 18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
14. 4 Kevin Duerr Dubuque
15. 88 Duane Roth Dubuque
03 Don Hughes Monticello

1. 38 TJ Leslein Dubuque
2. 98 Duane Ahmann Epworth
3. 97 Jeff Rienert Farley
4. 28 Ed McIntyre Delhi
5. 33 Jim Turpin Lancaster WI
6. 1 Tom Boyes Dubuque
7. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
8. 30 Mark Massey Farley
9. 83 Rob Petsche Asbury
10. 22 Cory Bauer Manchester
11. 72 Doug Yates Monticello
12. 6 Jed Frieburger Dubuque
13. 20 Dan Albright Lisbon
8k Jerry Merkes Farley
61 Scott Reichers Belmont WI

1. 38 Russ Yonkovic Dubuque
2. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
3. 6c Chris Hinrichs Monticello
4. 64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI
5. 66 Brad Strang Dubuque
6. 44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque
7. 26 Brian Strang Dubuque
8. 89 Kelly Welter Farley
9. b4jr Brian Diercks Anamosa

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter