SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


Farley Iowa
May 11, 2001

Defending NASCAR Weekly Racing Series track champion Jeff Aikey found his was back to victory lane in Late Model action held at the Farley Speedway on Friday May 11th.

Starting the event eleventh, Aikey made a quick charge to the front by using the bottom of the racetrack while early leader Ace Ihm led most of the rest of the pack around the top of the high-banked half mile facility. By the end of the second lap, Aikey found himself in the fifth position, his progress slowed briefly while negotiating the car of Troy Bruder, also running on bottom. Aikey then shot past Mark Merfeld and Duane Coulson on the fourth lap and overtook Ihm for the lead two laps later. Ihm was able to stay close by pounding the cushion while Aikey hugged the low side, but quickly found himself defending the second spot from Rick Wendling following Aikey’s lead on bottom. When the event’s first caution flag slowed the field on lap fourteen, Wendling switched to the topside of the racetrack following the doublewide restart, but was unable to pass Ihm before racing was once again slowed for a lap twenty caution. Ihm received a break when a miscue on the initial restart cost him several positions, but was given a reprieve when a car near the back of the pack spun out before a lap was complete. Ihm made the most of his good fortune, restarting the race back in second, holding on until the finish. Josh McGowan also used the restart to his advantage, passing Wendling and Terry Neal to finish second. Neal was also able to get around Wendling before the checkers to finish fourth.

Russ Olson inherited the Modified lead when leader Gus Hughes retired from the twenty lap race just past the halfway mark. Hughes appeared to be in complete control before his car began emitting sparks and smoke on lap seven, eventually forcing his retirement on lap eleven. Olson held off a late race challenge from Rich Smith to take his first win of the year ahead of Smith, Larry Herring, Jason Schueller and Ron Barker.

Jeff Tharp used a strong first lap to overtake leader Kevin Schroeder on the fifth lap. Tharp advanced from eighth on the start to second by the end of the first circuit, before running underneath the leader for the next four laps. Dan Shelliam joined the lead pair on lap four, allowing Tharp room on the top of the racetrack while Schroeder focused his attention on Shelliam on the bottom of the track. Shelliam was able to take the second spot as Schroeder slid back, allowing Jim Brokus to finish third ahead of Ty Kleiner and John Maher.

Jeff Reinert used a second lap charge to take the lead and eventually the win in Hobby Stock action. Reinert was forced to defend his position from Terry Merkes before securing the win ahead of Merkes and Paul Beckman. Ray Fawcett found his was around the extreme top of the track to pass Brian Strang on the fourth lap of the Fun Car feature. Strang held on to second ahead of Chad Hallahan.

Racing action continues this Friday and the Farley Speedway “Palace of Speed” in all five divisions of NASCAR stock cars. Hot laps are scheduled for 7 pm with racing to follow. For more information contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com. For race day updates and quick results afterwards, call your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory, category 3740 and 3741.

May 11, 2001
Stealth Race Cars/True Value Hardware Night

Late Models

1.        77  Jeff Aikey  Cedar Falls
2.        11  Ace Ihm  Hazel Green WI
3.        3    Josh McGowan  Vinton
4.        12n Terry Neal  Ely
5.        78  Rick Wendling  Hazelton
6.        77j Steve Johnson  Camanche
7.        37b Troy Bruder  Rock Falls IL
8.        58  Dave Eckrich  Coralville
9.        8m Chuck Mayerhofer  Dixon IL
10.     8   Mark Merfeld  Dubuque
11.     79  Darren Mish  Cassville WI
12.     44  Duane Coulson  East Dubuque IL
13.     72  Terry Huizel   Freeport IL
14.     51  Matt Furman  Iowa City
15.     27  Ed McGuire  Monroe WI
16.     32c Chad Holladay  Wilton
17.     1m Rob Moss  Iowa City
18.     21  Luke Merfeld  Dubuque
19.     70  Brandon Hennick  Central City
20.      41j  Jeremiah Hurst  Dubuque
21.     98.1 Bobby Hansen  Dike


1.        b3   Russ Olson  Cedar Rapids
2.        d1  Rich Smith  Bettendorf
3.        96  Larry Herring  Lone Tree
4.        3    Jason Schueller  Dubuque
5.        37b Ron Barker  Dubuque
6.        1     Dan Chapman  Clarence
7.        16  Ryan Dolan  Lisbon
8.        74   Scott Nesteby  Asbury
9.        d55  Scott Lemke  Davis Junction IL
10.     2c  Greg Chapman  Dubuque
11.     76  Matt Mish  Cassville WI
12.     9x  Richard Steadman  Hiawatha
13.     54  Doug Picray  Monticello
14.     27  Mark Schulte  Norway
15.     b1  Jeff Larson  Freeport IL
16.     00    Josh Vinnedge  Foreston IL
17.     24  Randy Less  Hopkinton
18.     10  Jed Hurst   Hazel Green WI
19.     30  Gus Hughes  Monticello
20.     93.7  Ken Kostenberger  Freeport IL
21.     1d  Mel Saffran  Dubuque


1.        12  Jeff Tharp  Dubuque
2.        16  Dan Shelliam  Hazel Green WI
3.        35  Jim Brokus  Dubuque
4.        20  Ty Kleiner  Potosi WI
5.        69  John Maher   West Branch
6.        71  Kevin Schroeder  Low Moor
7.        2k  Jeff Kennedy  Dubuque
8.        s1  Steve Hunter  Hopkinton
9.        4   Kevin Duerr
10.     17s  Dana Servoy  Marion
11.     25  Bobby Moyer  Dubuque
12.     23  Jim Amos
13.     03  Don Hughes  Monticello
14.     22  Jeff Valentine  Dubuque
15.     18  Brian Culbertson  Dubuque


1.        97  Jeff Rienert  Farley
2.        8k   Jerry Merkes  Farley
3.        p7  Paul Beckman  Monticello
4.        30   Mark Massey  Farley
5.        63m  Scott Barton  Maquoketa
6.        6   Jed Frieburger  Dubuque
7.        13   Larry Benn  Dyersville
8.        20  Dan Albright  West Liberty
9.        72   Doug Yates  Monticello
10.     83  Rob Petsche  Asbury
11.     22  Cory Bauer
12.     98  Duane Ahmann  Epworth
DNS 38  TJ Leslein  Dubuque


1.        64  Ray Fawcett  Benton WI
2.        26  Brian Strang  Dubuque
3.        7   Chad Hallahan  Dubuque
4.        44  BJ Schmitt  Dubuque
5.        66   Brad Strang  Dubuque
6.        6c  Chris Hinrichs  Monticello
7.        89  Kelly Welter  Farley
8.        6     Todd Moore  Dubuque
9.        b4jr  Brian Diercks  Anamosa
10.     43  Jason Honshel
11.      33 Nick McElmeel 
12.     38  Russ Yankovic  Dubuque

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter