SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

Johnson breaks West Liberty jinx

WEST LIBERTY, IA (April 28, 2001) - Steve Johnson earned the right to park in victory lane in NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model action held at the West Liberty Raceway on Saturday April 28th. It was the veteran chauffeur’s first ever win at the ultra-competitive half-mile after eight years of trying.

Sophomore pilot Jeff Bair got the jump on Tom Christensen to lead the early laps after a first lap melee in the third corner involving several cars forced a complete restart, the only stoppage during the 25-lap event. Christensen held on to second until last week’s winner Tom Cannon used the cushion to power by on the fifth lap, followed by Johnson underneath two laps later. Cannon spent the next several laps experimenting with different lines around the track while Bair stretched his lead. Lap eleven saw the leader in heavy traffic, allowing both Cannon and Johnson to eliminate his comfortable lead. By the time lap fourteen was in the books, the three cars were running side-by-side as they negotiated the very heavy lapped traffic in front of them. Staying low, Johnson appeared to have the faster line, but was denied several times as Cannon shot past Bair on the cushion for the lead on lap sixteen. Johnson followed on the bottom part of the racetrack, staying alongside but unable to complete the pass until lap 21 when they finally cleared themselves of the slower cars. Johnson was able to cruise the last four laps, benefiting from Denny Eckrich and Gary Webb’s charge from deep in the field late in the race. Waging war among themselves, Eckrich and Webb caught Cannon with two laps to go, with Eckrich sneaking by on the high side immediately and Webb securing the third position down low in the final corner of the race. Cannon held on to fourth with Bair crossing underneath the checkers in fifth.

Darrall Brick used the same formula as last week to secure his second straight Miller Time Modified feature win by planting his right rear tire on the cushion to keep his momentum up all the way around the track. Starting tenth, Brick was rather lonely on the topside of the racetrack as he quickly raced his way to the front catching early leader Robbie Verbeck on lap four. With Verbeck staying true on the inside, Brick took over the point after several laps of double wide racing. Verbeck stayed true to the bottom of the racetrack, never challenging for the lead but staying close enough to be able to capitalize on any miscues. Not getting the break he needed, Verbeck finished second ahead of Gus Hughes, Dave Boyd and Russ Olson.

Norman Bean took home his first Pro Stock feature win of the year, taking the lead away from Chad Simpson on lap eight. Utilizing the two-wide restarts for the first time, Bean quickly advanced through the pack from his tenth row starting spot to line up directly behind the leader for the events final caution on lap seven. After getting the jump on second place Brian VanDusen on the restart, Bean dispatched of Simpson one lap later and cruised to the easy win. Rookie Andy Eckrich followed Bean to the front, grabbing second at the checkers ahead of Simpson, VanDusen and Matt Gilchrist.

Dave Elliot and Dave Wada waged a ten lap war in the Bomber division, with Elliot using a stronger pull off the bottom side of the racetrack to pull ahead at the checkers, with Wada, Todd Hansen, Tim Zeman and Stan O’Brien rounding out the top five.

All four divisions of NASCAR Stock Cars will be in battle this Saturday night with hot laps scheduled for 6:30 and racing at 7 pm. For more information contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com for raceday weather updates call your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory category #3741 and for quick results after the event is complete, category #3740.



77j Steve Johnson Camanche
50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
32 Tom Cannon Iowa City
28 Jeff Bair Solon
12 Ray Guss Jr. Milan IL
78 Rick Wendling Hazelton
58 Dave Eckrich Coralville
57 Tom Christensen West Liberty
74 Ron Boyse Kalona
13k Denny Petersen Tipton
66 Fred Remely Blue Grass
18z Rusty Zook Riverside
45 Mike Klinkkammer West Branch
3t Todd Davis Iowa City
21h Brian Harris Davenport
77 Kurt Kile West Liberty
32c Chad Holliday Wilton
35 David Englekens Clinton
m32 Marty Beckler Hills
26b Wayne Brau Annawan, IL
33 Kurt Stewart Ainsworth
4 Bobby Sexton West Branch
23d Dana Wells Moscow
2 Monte Ohrt West Branch
11 Steve Ihm Hazel Green WI
51 Matt Furman Iowa City
63 Rob Kirchner Donnellson
DNQ 8m Mark Ward Muscatine
DNQ 25 Mike Beuter Tipton
DNQ 88 Kevin Kile West Liberty
DNQ ez33 Nick Marolf Moscow
DNQ 8 Chuck Mayerhofer Dixon
DNQ 31 Brian Morgan Muscatine
DNQ 6 Jay Chenoweth Wapello
DNQ 69 Todd Hormel West Liberty
DNQ 1m Rob Moss Iowa City
DNQ 7 Andy Nezworski Davenport


1. 22 Darrall Brick West Branch
2. 60 Robbie Verbeck Annawan IL
3. 30 Gus Hughes Monticello
4. 22d Dave Boyd Mechanicsville
5. b3 Russ Olson Cedar Rapids
6. 96 Larry Herring Lone Tree
7. 007 Brian Sexton Lone Tree
8. m2 Scott Megonigle Cedar Rapids
9. 12 Terry Walker Riverside
10. 2 Jim Vest Wellman
11. 55 Scott Stecher Muscatine
12. 37 Todd Stoolman West Branch
13. 64 Bret Frieden Cedar Rapids
14. 44 Wade Lee Davenport
15. 19 Terry Lawson New Liberty
16. 1 Dan Chapman Clarence
17. 2h Rick Hixson Orion IL
18. 72 Rich Lewis Kewaupee IL
19. 26 Scott Fridley Mechanicsville
20. 71z Raymond Partida West Liberty
21. 9z Mike Zogg New Liberty
22. 34 David Hemsted Lone Tree
23. 45 Steve Kohli Iowa City
24. 20 John Fellman Blue Grass
25. 42 John Brumely Muscatine
26. 15 Allen May Elmwood IL
DNQ 18 Matt Ruess West Liberty
DNQ 54 Doug Picray Monticello
DNQ 25 Dustin Lovell
DNQ 9 Richard Steadman Hiawatha
DNQ 7 Mike Thomas
DNQ v8 Terry Murphy Iowa City


1. 62 Norman Bean Muscatine
2. 56 Andy Eckrich Cosgrove
3. 25 Chad Simpson Muscatine
4. 21 Brian VanDusen Atalissa
5. 1 Matt Gilchrist Grandview
6. 7 Dale Franklin Marion
7. 2r Rusty Daufeldt Blue Grass
8. 17 Gary Beuter Tipton
9. 69 John Maher West Branch
10. 9z Dan Werner Muscatine
11. 77 Darrin Plett Davenport
12. 32 Chris Simpson Muscatine
13. 30 Dan Brockert Muscatine
14. 36 Jason Gingrich West Liberty
15. 9m Jody Metzger Muscatine
16. 00 Jerome Gray Muscatine
17. 60 Matt Brockert Muscatine
18. 5 Larry McCall
19. 79 Mike Dugan
DNS 33 Randy Franzen Marion
DNS 11 Troy Philpott Muscatine
DNS 29 Bruce Miller
DNS 24 Robert Hayden
DNS 42 Larry Pearson


1. 9 Dave Elliot Muscatine
2. 29 Dave Wada Muscatine
3. 21 Todd Hansen Muscatine
4. 92 Tim Zeman Muscatine
5. 0 Stan O'Brien Muscatine
6. 66 Jason Erwin Muscatine
7. 57j Jeremy Thompson Ainsworth
8. 97 Robert Barnes
9. 42v Darrin Voss
10. 1 Orlen Stark West Liberty
11. 15 Jarrod Collins West Liberty
12. 20 Dan Albright West Liberty
13. 11 Chris Mauer West Liberty
14. 72 Doug Yates Monticello
15. 99 C.J. Ormsby Moscow
16. 0b Matt Bodman Muscatine
DQ d1 Matt Fulton Blue Grass
DNS 40 James Rock Muscatine

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter