SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


West Liberty Raceway
August 11, 2001

Sophomore pilot Matt Furman nabbed his first ever NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model win in fine fashion, dominating the 29 car field on Saturday   August 11th at the West Liberty Raceway. 

After a pair of hard crashes early in the race that resulted in a pair of red flags and several destroyed racecars, Furman jumped into the lead with a three wide move in the first corner, sweeping underneath Jeff Aikey and Brian Morgan as the trio completed the first lap.  Instantly running out to a huge lead, Furman went unchallenged the entire 25 lap distance.  Aikey was kept busy most of the race with last weeks winner Todd Davis, with Aikey keeping his car planted on the cushion while Davis worked the middle of the track underneath.  Fighting for more than three quarters of the race, Aikey was able to stay in front of Davis while Furman streaked away.  Points leader Denny Eckrich was able to improve his twelfth place start into a fourth place finish, while Denny Peterson was awarded fifth after Kurt Stewart came up light on the scales in post race inspection. 

Terry Walker took home his first  Miller Time Modified feature in the twenty lap green to checkers event by surviving a late charge by Larry Herring.  Herring ran second most of the event but began closing in on Walker just past the half-way point.  As the pair raced through lapped traffic with two to go, Herring dove underneath Walker to take the lead, but made contact with a slower car and damaged his mount.  Sliding back through the field, Herring fell out of the top ten at the checkers as Bret Frieden, Gerry Brick, points leader Scott Megonigle and Raymon Partida rounded out the top five. 

Pro Stocks also went without a caution flag with Norman Bean picking up his third win of the year after chasing down Chad Simpson.  Simpson took the lead from the pole and set a quick pace, remaining unchallenged until the final lap.  Undaunted by lapped traffic thoughout the final six laps, Simpson struggled with the slower cars as he raced down the backstretch for the final time.  Bean seized the opportunity to dive underneath the leader as the pair entered the final corner, emerging as the leader ast he checkered flags waved.  Gary Beuter finished third after a torrid battle with fourth place Darren Plett and fifth Dale Franklin during the final half of the fifteen lap affair. 

Hobby Stocks started out the features with the first caution free run,  with CJ Ormsby taking the lead away from Dave Elliot on the fifth lap and posting his third win of the season.  Elliot was able to stay with Ormsby briefly but fell back at the checkers, crossing well ahead of points leader Jeremey Thompson, Todd Hansen and Orlen Stark.  

Racing action resumes this Saturday August 18th in all four divisions of NASCAR stock cars.   Hot Laps are scheduled for 6:30 pm with racing to follow.  For more information, please contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or on the internet at www.SimmonsPromotionsInc.com.  For raceday updates and instant results upon completion please call your local McLeod USA InTouch directory category #3740 or #3741. 

Late Models
1. 51  Matt Furman   Iowa City
2. 77  Jeff Aikey  Cedar Falls
3. 3t  Todd Davis  Iowa City
4. 50  Denny Eckrich Coralville
5. 13k Denny Petersen Tipton
6. 31 Brian Morgan  Muscatine
7. 66   Fred Remely  Blue Grass
8. 77j Steve Johnson  Camanche 
9. 74  Ron Boyse  Kalona 
10. 32  Tom Cannon  Iowa City
11. ez33 Nick Marolf  Moscow
12.  8m Mark Ward  Muscatine
13. c4  Lee Seydel   Iowa City 
14. 3  Josh McGowan Vinton
15. 30  Dan Brockert  Muscatine
16. m32 Marty Beckler Hills
17. 7    Andy Nezworski Davenport 
18. 26b  Wayne Brau  Annawan IL
19. 28  Jeff Bair   Solon
20. 23d Dana Wells  Moscow
21. 57 Tom Christensen  West Liberty   
22. 4  Bobby Sexton   West Branch
23. 18z  Rusty Zook   Riverside 
24. 32c  Chad Holliday   Wilton
25. 45 Mike Klinkkammer West Branch 
26. 37  Rollie Frink   Davenport
27. 6  Jay Chenoweth  Wapello

 33  Kurt Stewart  Ainsworth
2   Monte Ohrt  West Branch

1. 12 Terry Walker  Riverside
2. 64 Bret Frieden  Cedar Rapids
3. 22  Darrall Brick  West Branch
4. m2 Scott Megonigle  Cedar Rapids
5. 71z  Ramon Partida West Liberty
6. 1   Dan Chapman  Clarence
7. 60 Robbie Verbeck  Annawan IL 
8. 72  Rich Lewis    Kewaupee IL
9. 45 Steve Kohli   Iowa City
10. 37 Todd Stoolman West Branch
11. 96 Larry Herring  Lone Tree
12. 55 Scott Stecher  Muscatine
13. 9  Richard Steadman Hiawatha
14. 19 Terry Lawson  New Liberty
15. 42 John Brumely   Muscatine
16. 007  Brian Sexton Lone Tree
17. 34  Dave Hemstead Lone Tree
18. 7  Mike Thomas  West Branch
19. 17 Steve Stewart  Washington
20. 25 Dustin Lovell  Rochester
21. 18 Matt Ruess  West Liberty
22. 56  Bob Fier   Davenport
23. b3  Russ Olson   Cedar Rapids

20  John Fellman   Blue Grass

1. 62 Norman Bean  Muscatine
2. 25 Chad Simpson  Marion
3. 17 Gary Beuter  Tipton
4. 77 Darrin Plett  Davenport
5. 7 Dale Franklin  Marion
6. 11 Troy Philpot  Muscatine
7. 56 Andy Eckrich  Cosgrove
8. 36 Jason Gingrich West Liberty
9. 1   Matt Gilchrist   Grandview 
10. 69 John Maher  West Branch 
11. 30  Dan Brockert  Muscatine 
12. 29 Bruce Miller  West Liberty
13. 34  Ken Hansen  Vinton 
14. 9z Dan Werner   Muscatine
15. 2r  Rusty Daufeldt Blue Grass
16. 32 Chris Simpson  Marion
17. 44  Tom Struve  Palo
18. 21 Brian VanDusen Atalissa
19. 9m  Jody Metzger Muscatine
20. 00  Jerome Gray   Muscatine
21. 60 Matt Brockert   Muscatine
22. 24  Monte Hayden Wilton 
23. 5m  Larry McCall Mechanicsville
24. 42  Larry Pearson  North Liberty
25. 33  Randy Franzen Marion

1. 99  CJ Ormsby  West Liberty
2. 9  Dave Elliot  Muscatine
3. 57j  Jeremy Thompson Ainsworth
4. 21 Todd Hansen  Muscatine
5. 1  Orlen Stark  West Liberty
6. 0  Stan O'Brien  Muscatine
7. 97 Robert Barnes  Letts
8. 15 Jarrod Collins  West Liberty  
9. 66  Jason Erwin  Muscatine
10. d2 Matt Fulton  Blue Grass
11. 11  Chris Maurer  West Liberty
12. 72 Doug Yates  Monticello
13. 100  David Schrier West Liberty

    94  Jason Lange  Muscatine
     0b Matt Bodman  Muscatine

Home ] Up ]

Copyright 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter