SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


West Liberty Raceway
May 12, 2001

Denny Eckrich became the fifth driver in the five events held in 2001 to claim a NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model checkered flag at the West Liberty Raceway on Saturday May 12th. Dan Chapman and Jeremy Thompson each took home their first wins of the season in the Modified and Hobby Stocks, while Matt Gilchrist took the lead over all drivers with his third victory in the Pro Stocks.

Starting eleventh, Eckrich escaped a grinding second lap crash when Rusty Zook spun in the first corner, collecting the cars of previous winners Steve Johnson and Tom Cannon as well as Brian Morgan, Matt Furman and Lee Seydel. No injuries were reported, but all cars involved were heavily damaged and finished for the evening. Kurt Stewart paced the field when racing resumed, ahead of Kurt Kile, Brian Harris, Bobby Sexton and Eckrich. Immediately going to work, Eckrich worked his way into third before the second and final yellow flag on lap five. Utilizing the double file restart, Eckrich advanced from third into the lead on the restart by sweeping underneath Stewart in the third turn. With the lead unchallenged for the remaining twenty laps, everyone's attention turned to fifteenth place starter Brian Birkhofer's charge to the front. Racing with defending track champion Gary Webb through traffic, Birkhofer took the third spot away from Dave Eckrich on lap 21 but found himself a full straightaway behind the leader and unable to close the margin. Dave Eckrich held on for the fourth position ahead of Webb, Harris, Kile and Skip Frey.

Starting on the front row but falling back at the start, Dan Chapman chased down leader Terry Walker by riding the rim of the flat half-mile racetrack to take the lead on the twelfth lap. Robbie Verbeck used the opposite approach by hugging the bottom of the track to make it a three car battle for the lead for a few laps, taking the lead for at least a full circuit before falling back into the second spot. Walker held on to third, well ahead of Scott Megonigle and Richard Steadman.

In the most exciting race of the evening, Matt Gilchrist emerged on top of a three car dogfight in the Pro Stocks. Brian VanDusen took the early lead but relinquished the lead to Chad Simpson on the fourth pass by retiring to the pits with mechanical failure. The resulting yellow flag set up a three way battle on the restart between Simpson, Gilchrist and John Maher that lasted for the final ten laps. Simpson kept his car on the cushion around the top of the racetrack with Maher committed to the bottom while they raced side-by-side for the lead. Gilchrist planted himself on Simpson's rear bumper but in third place until the tenth lap when he moved his car down a lane and alongside the leaders, creating a three-abreast fight for the lead. The middle proved to be the fastest route as Gilchrist emerged with the lead two laps later, cruising to his third victory in five weeks. Maher held on for second while Andy Eckrich nipped Simpson for third at the line.

Point leader Jeremy Thompson posted his first Hobby Stock feature win of the year by starting in the twelfth position and running down early leader Matt Bodman. Bodman slipped underneath pole sitter Jarrod Collins on the second lap, but was unable to open up much of a lead before Thompson charged his way to the front to first challenge for the lead on lap four. Taking the lead one lap later in the non-stop race, Thompson planted his car on the cushion to post the easy win ahead of Bodman, Stan O'Brien, Matt Fulton and Dave Wada.

Racing action continues for all four divisions of NASCAR Stock Cars at the West Liberty Raceway this Saturday night, May 19th. Hot Laps are scheduled for 6:30 pm with racing to follow. For more information, please contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or on the internet at www.SimmonsPromotionsInc.com. For raceday updates and instant results upon completion please call your local McLeod USA InTouch directory category #3740 or #3741.

True Value Hardware Night

Late Models
1. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
2. 33 Kurt Stewart Ainsworth
3. 15 Brian Birkhofer Muscatine
4. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville
5. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
6. 21h Brian Harris Davenport
7. 77 Kurt Kile West Liberty
8. 3x Skip Frey Ely
9. 78 Rick Wendling Hazelton
10. 74 Ron Boyse Kalona
11. 13k Denny Petersen Tipton
12. 8 Chuck Mayerhofer Dixon IL
13. 88 Kevin Kile West Liberty
14. 57 Tom Christensen West Liberty
15. 28 Jeff Bair Solon
16. 11 Steve Ihm Hazel Green WI
17. 4 Bobby Sexton West Branch
18. 26b Wayne Brau Annawan IL
19. 23d Dana Wells Moscow
20. 7 Andy Nezworski Davenport
21. 8m Mark Ward Muscatine
22. 3t Todd Davis Iowa City
23. 18z Rusty Zook Riverside
24. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
25. 51 Matt Furman Iowa City
26. 32 Tom Cannon Iowa City
27. 31 Brian Morgan Muscatine
28. c4 Lee Seydel Iowa City

66 Fred Remely Blue Grass
ez33 Nick Marolf Moscow
32c Chad Holliday Wilton
5 Jay Johnson West Burlington
1m Rob Moss Iowa City
m32 Marty Beckler Hills
17 Clayton Jensen Iowa City
45 Mike Klinkkammer West Branch
35 David Englekens Clinton
30 Dan Brockert Muscatine
25 Mike Beuter Tipton
12 Ray Guss Jr. Milan IL
2 Monte Ohrt West Branch
6 Jay Chenoweth Wapello
63 Rob Kirchner Donnellson

1. 1 Dan Chapman Clarence
2. 60 Robbie Verbeck Annawan IL
3. 12 Terry Walker Riverside
4. m2 Scott Megonigle Cedar Rapids
5. 9 Richard Steadman Hiawatha
6. 22 Darrall Brick West Branch
7. 96 Larry Herring Lone Tree
8. 30 Gus Hughes Monticello
9. 2h Rick Hixson Orion IL
10. 2 Jim Vest Wellman
11. b3 Russ Olson Cedar Rapids
12. 55 Scott Stecher Muscatine
13. 37 Todd Stoolman West Branch
14. 007 Brian Sexton Lone Tree
15. 64 Bret Frieden Cedar Rapids
16. 22d Dave Boyd Mechanicsville
17. 8b Gerry Brick West Branch
18. 45 Steve Kohli Iowa City
19. 9z Mike Zogg New Liberty
20. 72 Rich Lewis Kewaupee IL
21. 20 John Fellman Blue Grass
22. 42 John Brumely Muscatine
23. 18 Matt Ruess West Liberty
24. 50b Robert Utter West Liberty
25. 7 Mike Thomas
26. 25 Dustin Lovell
27. 44 Wade Lee Davenport
28. 19 Terry Lawson New Liberty
71z Raymond Partida West Liberty

1. 1 Matt Gilchrist Grandview
2. 69 John Maher West Branch
3. 56 Andy Eckrich Cosgrove
4. 25 Chad Simpson Muscatine
5. 17 Gary Beuter Tipton
6. 36 Jason Gingrich West Liberty
7. 9z Dan Werner Muscatine
8. 2r Rusty Daufeldt Blue Grass
9. 9m Jody Metzger Muscatine
10. 77 Darrin Plett Davenport
11. 29 Bruce Miller
12. 32 Chris Simpson Muscatine
13. 60 Matt Brockert Muscatine
14. Robert Hayden
15. 21 Brian VanDusen Atalissa
16. 7 Dale Franklin Marion
17. 62 Norman Bean Muscatine
18. 79 Mike Dugan
19. 00 Jerome Gray Muscatine
11 Troy Philpott Muscatine
5 Larry McCall Muscatine

1. 57j Jeremy Thompson Ainsworth
2. 0b Matt Bodman Muscatine
3. 0 Stan O'Brien Muscatine
4. d1 Matt Fulton Blue Grass
5. 29 Dave Wada Muscatine
6. 9 Dave Elliot Muscatine
7. 1 Orlen Stark West Liberty
8. 21 Todd Hansen Muscatine
9. 15 Jarrod Collins West Liberty
10. 97 Robert Barnes
11. 72 Doug Yates Monticello
12. 11 Chris Mauer West Liberty
13. 40 James Rock Muscatine
42v Darrin Voss Wilton

Home ] Up ]

Copyright 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter