SPI Logo


2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


West Liberty Raceway
September 1st, 2001

Matt Furman and Denny Eckrich shared the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model victory lane on Saturday September 1st, closing out regular season racing at the West Liberty Raceway. 

Furman took home the first of the double features by running down early leader Skip Frey on the ninth lap.  Furman started the event in the eighth slot, picking off cars immediately.   Despite heavy traffic, Furman continued to extend his advantage until a lap seventeen caution bunched the cars back up and gave Dave Eckrich a shot at the top spot.  Furman was able to hold off the challenge on the restart and went on to post his second consecutive win ahead of Dave Eckrich, Denny Eckrich, Frey and Fred Remely. 

Todd Davis looked to be in line for his third win of the season during most of the second feature event, running away from the pack from the outside front row.  Opening up a huge lead while Denny Eckrich fought with Gary Webb for the runner up spot, Davis's victory appeared inevitable until late in the race.  Seemingly shot out of a cannon, Eckrich cleared Webb on lap seventeen and began reeling in Davis by several car lengths per lap.  After erasing his deficit in only five laps,. Eckrich swept underneath with two laps to go and went on to post his sixth win of the season, clinching the points championship in the process. 

Robbie Verbeck scored his second Miller Time Modified win of the season by chasing down Steve Kohli during the mid-portion of the 20 lap feature event.  Kohli took off into the lead from his front row starting spot while the pack fought for position behind him.  Eventually Verbeck was able to break free from the action, chasing down Kohli on lap three, but unable to make the pass until lap eleven.  Darrall Brick, Rick Hixson and Scott Megonigle rounded out the top five as Megonigle clinched the Points Championship over Brick. 

Chris Simpson topped the Pro Stock action by taking the lead at the end of the first lap and never looking back, Dale Franklin gave chase but was unable to challenge for the lead, ending up second in the fifteen lap event.  Chad Simpson, Andy Eckrich and Darrin Plett rounded out the top five as Eckrich clinched the Points Championship in his rookie year in the Pro Stocks.   CJ Ormsby chased down leader Bub Erwin on the last lap to take home the Hobby Stocks, Dave Elliot, Stan O'Brien and Matt Fulton rounded out the top five.   Jeremy Thompson wrapped up the season long Points Championship on the strength of his eighth place finish. 

The West Liberty Raceway located on the Muscatine County Fairgrounds will be dark until the running of the 5th Annual Liberty "100"  held on September 21st and 22nd.  The event will be run under Open Late Model Shootout rules and will pay more than $7000 to the winner.  Heat races for all four divisions of racecars will be held on Friday along with an Invitational event paying $2000, patterned after  "The Winston".   For more information, please contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or on the internet at www.SimmonsPromotionsInc.com.  For raceday updates and instant results upon completion please call your local McLeod USA InTouch directory category #3740 or #3741. 

Late Models #1
1. 51  Matt Furman   Iowa City
2. 58  Dave Eckrich  Coralville
3. 50  Denny Eckrich Coralville
4. 3x  Skip Frey   Ely
5. 66   Fred Remely  Blue Grass
6. 56  Gary Webb   Blue Grass
7. 33  Kurt Stewart  Ainsworth
8. 28  Jeff Bair   Solon
9. 12  Ray Guss Jr  Milan IL
10. 74  Ron Boyse  Kalona 
11. 3t  Todd Davis  Iowa City
12. ez33 Nick Marolf  Moscow
13. 32  Tom Cannon  Iowa City
14. 21h  Brian Harris  Davenport
15. 77  Kurt Kile  West Liberty
16. 23d Dana Wells  Moscow
17. 45 Mike Klinkkammer West Branch 
18. 18z  Rusty Zook   Riverside
19. 26b  Wayne Brau  Annawan IL
20. 30  Dan Brockert  Muscatine
21. 57 Tom Christensen  West Liberty   
22. 8m Mark Ward  Muscatine
23. 4  Bobby Sexton   West Branch
24. 63  Rob Kirchner  Donnellson
25.  1m  Rob Moss  Iowa City
26. 7    Andy Nezworski Davenport 
27. 77  Jeff Aikey  Cedar Falls
28. 77j Steve Johnson  Camanche 
29. 32c  Chad Holliday   Wilton
30. 88  Kevin Kile   West Liberty

Late Models #2
1. 50  Denny Eckrich Coralville
2. 3t  Todd Davis  Iowa City
3. 56  Gary Webb   Blue Grass
4. 28  Jeff Bair   Solon
5. 58  Dave Eckrich  Coralville
6. 3x  Skip Frey   Ely
7. 33  Kurt Stewart  Ainsworth
8. 21h  Brian Harris  Davenport
9. 66   Fred Remely  Blue Grass
10. 74  Ron Boyse  Kalona 
11. ez33 Nick Marolf  Moscow
12. 45 Mike Klinkkammer West Branch 
13. 77  Kurt Kile  West Liberty
14. 32c  Chad Holliday   Wilton
15. 26b  Wayne Brau  Annawan IL
16. 4  Bobby Sexton   West Branch
17. 57 Tom Christensen  West Liberty   
18. 23d Dana Wells  Moscow
19. 77j Steve Johnson  Camanche 
20. 8m Mark Ward  Muscatine
21. 30  Dan Brockert  Muscatine
22. 7    Andy Nezworski Davenport 
23. 18z  Rusty Zook   Riverside
24. 63  Rob Kirchner  Donnellson
25. 1m  Rob Moss  Iowa City
26. 51  Matt Furman   Iowa City
27. 12  Ray Guss Jr  Milan IL
28. 77  Jeff Aikey  Cedar Falls
29. 88  Kevin Kile   West Liberty

32  Tom Cannon  Iowa City

13k Denny Petersen  Tipton
17  Clayton Jensen    Davenport
69  Todd Hormel   West Liberty
11  Ace Ihm    Hazel Green WI
2   Monte Ohrt  West Branch
m32 Marty Beckler  Hills
22b  Jon Brauns  Muscatine
31 Brian Morgan  Muscatine

1. 60 Robbie Verbeck  Annawan IL 
2. 45 Steve Kohli   Iowa City
3. 22  Darrall Brick  West Branch
4. 2h  Rick Hixson   Orion IL
5. m2 Scott Megonigle  Cedar Rapids
6. 96 Larry Herring  Lone Tree
7. 64 Bret Frieden  Cedar Rapids
8. 12 Terry Walker  Riverside
9. 71z  Ramon Partida West Liberty
10. 34  Dave Hemstead Lone Tree
11. 19 Terry Lawson  New Liberty
12. 1   Dan Chapman  Clarence
13. b3  Russ Olson   Cedar Rapids
14. 72  Rich Lewis    Kewaupee IL
15. 42 John Brumely   Muscatine
16. 7  Mike Thomas  West Branch
17. 17 Steve Stewart  Washington
18. 44 Wade Lee  Muscatine
19. 25 Dustin Lovell  Rochester
20. 2   Jim Vest  Wellman
21. 18 Matt Ruess  West Liberty
22. 54 Doug Picray  Monticello
23. 38  David Hillyer  Letts
24. 55 Scott Stecher  Muscatine
25. 56  Bob Fier   Davenport
26. 37 Todd Stoolman West Branch
27. 9  Richard Steadman Hiawatha

 22d  Dave Boyd  Conesville
5  Dennis Poulson West Liberty

1. 32 Chris Simpson  Marion
2. 7 Dale Franklin  Marion
3. 25 Chad Simpson  Marion
4. 56 Andy Eckrich  Cosgrove
5. 77 Darrin Plett  Davenport
6. 17 Gary Beuter  Tipton
7. 2r  Rusty Daufeldt Blue Grass
8. 29 Bruce Miller  West Liberty
9. 9z Dan Werner   Muscatine
10. 21 Brian VanDusen Atalissa
11. 11 Troy Philpot  Muscatine
12. 44  Tom Struve  Palo
13. 60 Matt Brockert   Muscatine
14. 9m  Jody Metzger Muscatine
15. 5m  Larry McCall Mechanicsville
16. 42  Larry Pearson  West Liberty
17. 34  Ken Hansen  Vinton 
18. 33  Randy Franzen Marion
19. 69 John Maher  West Branch 
20. 36 Jason Gingrich West Liberty

62 Norman Bean  Muscatine
1   Matt Gilchrist   Grandview 
24  Monte Hayden Wilton 
99  Ricky West  Muscatine

1. 99  CJ Ormsby  West Liberty
2. 66  Jason Erwin  Muscatine
3. 9  Dave Elliot  Muscatine
4. 0  Stan O'Brien  Muscatine
5. d2 Matt Fulton  Blue Grass
6. 21 Todd Hansen  Muscatine
7. 0b Matt Bodman  Muscatine
8. 57j  Jeremy Thompson Ainsworth
9. 15 Jarrod Collins  West Liberty  
10. 11  Chris Maurer  West Liberty
11. 72 Doug Yates  Monticello
12. 23  Dennis Etten   
13. 20  Dan Albright  Lisbon
14. 97 Robert Barnes  Letts
15. 1  Orlen Stark  West Liberty

Copyright 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: September 10, 2004

Hit Counter