SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

Aikey Scores 7th NASCAR Win, Herring Nips Barker At Checkers for Mod Win At Farley Speedway


The NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge provided the large crowd in attendance on fan appreciation night with plenty of wheel to wheel action and close finishes on Friday night.


The NASCAR Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Model feature saw defending Midwest NASCAR Region Champion Jeff Aikey score his seventh feature win of the season at the Farley Speedway. Aikey used the high side early and late in the race found the bottom of the multi grooved smooth track to his liking in working to the front from his sixth row start. Aikey took the lead from season long top five finisher Josh McGowan on his way to the win. After Aikey took the lead the battle on the track was for the second position. Darren Mish and McGowan battled for the spot lap after lap before Mish was able to secure the position and cross under the checkers in second with McGowan taking third ahead of Denny Eckrich, Bobby Hansen rounded out the top five.


The Quarter Master Modified is one that will go down in history as a classic battle. Ron Barker was out to extend his record season but on this night he was to be denied by a very strong Larry Herring. The two Modified hot shoes raced lap after lap side by side very clean. The track was very wide allowing a lot of lead swapping. Herring led several laps before Barker was able to take the top spot with five to go. Herring refused to give in and continued to challenge Barker for the win. The two crossed under the white flag with Barker leading by less than a car length. Herring took the low line into turn one and came out of turn two with a slight advantage. Down the back chute Herring maintained a slight advantage and Herring took the middle of the track through turn three and four and was able to out distance Barker at the checkers by a couple of feet. Jed Hurst came home in third ahead of early race leader Jason Schueller.


Jeff Tharp picked up another Pro Stock feature win on Friday night in his Rocket chassis Midwest Meats sponsored car. Tharp worked to the front taking the lead on a lap 8 restart. Tharp went on to hold off Ty Kleiner in scoring the 15 lap feature win. Bobby Moyer ran up front all race long and settled for third at the checkers.


Larry Benn scored his fifth win of the season at the Farley Speedway in the NASCAR Hobby Stock main event. Benn drove his multi colored Monte Carlo to the checkers ahead of Jason Rauen and Jerry Merkes.


Young Jason Roth scored his 7th feature win of the season in the Farley Flyer division. Roth took the win by beating his sister in her debut of a new car on Friday night. Becky Roth finished second ahead of Mark Jaeger.


Friday, August 9th will be back to school night at the Farley Speedway with special door prizes for all the kids in attendance. Racing will take to the track at 7:30 p.m.


Friday, August 2nd Race Results


Farley Flyers  

Heat 1.


  1. 99.3 Mark Jaeger-Dyersville

  2. 00 John Flury-Epworth

  3. 01 Damien Miller-Dubuque

Heat 2


  1. 31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI

  2. 69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI

  3. 71 Adam Wills-Hazel Green, WI



1.      31 Roth

2.      69 Roth

3.      99.3 Mark Jaeger-Dyersville

4.      55 Brian Kammerude-Hazel Green, WI

5.      00 Flury

6.      21k Danny Kennedy-Dubuque

7.      14 Levi Benn-Dyersville

8.      00X Ryan Simon-Farley

9.      7K Travis Kaiser-Dyersville

10.  38S R.J. Simon-Farley

11.  15 Loras Feldmann-Dyersville

12.  71 Wills

13.  79 Cliff Schanbeck-Delaware

14.  75 Chad Naderman-Farley

15.  01 Miller

16.  97 Russ Their-Dyersville


NASCAR Hobby Stocks

Heat 1


1.      59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL

2.      33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI

3.      13 Larry Benn-Dyersville


Heat 2


1.      18 Danny Young-Anamosa

2.      44 Korey Haverly-Anamosa

3.      8K Jerry Merkes-Farley



1.      13 Benn

2.      98 Jason Rauen-Farley

3.      8K Merkes

4.      44 Haverly

5.      28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi

6.      38. T.J. Leslein-Durango

7.      33 Turpin

8.      5 Norb Ahlers-Earlville

9.      59 Hughes

10.  18 Young

11.  442 Dave Meyer-Morley

12.  83R Rob Petsche-Centralia

13.  97 Steve Dunkel-Worthington

14.  89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque   

15.  73L Jason Laue-Freeport, IL

16.  44S B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque

17.  26 Tom Darrow-Monticello


NASCAR Pro Stocks

Heat 1

1.      22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque

2.      97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville

3.      16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI


Heat 2


1.      25 Bobby Moyer-Dubuque

2.      1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids

3.      12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque



1.      12 Tharp

2.      20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI

3.      25 Moyer

4.      22 Valentine

5.      35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque

6.      2k Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque

7.      16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI

8.      97 Reinert

9.      69 John Maher-West Branch

10.  23 Jim Amos-Peosta

11.  1 Walker


Quarter Master Modifieds 

Heat 1


1.      10 Jed Hurst-Hazel Green

2.      37 B Ron Barker-Dubuque

3.      24 Jan Messer-Manchester


Heat 2


1.      24 Randy Less-Hopkinton

2.      39 Bob Bollon Freeport, IL

3.      27 Mark Schulte-Delhi




1.      96 Larry Herring-Lone Tree

2.      37B Barker

3.      10 Hurst

4.      3 Jason Schuller-Dubuque

5.      27 Schulte

6.      24 Less

7.      20 Korey Burmeister-Glen Haven, WI

8.      00 Josh Vinnedge-Forreston, IL

9.      39 Bollon

10.  24M Messer

11.  17 Bill Flannagan-Cedar Rapids

12.  6D Les Wood-Waterloo

13.  11 Mike Burbridge-Delhi

14.  74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque


Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation NASCAR Late Models

Heat 1


  1. 79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI

  2. 3 Josh McGowan-Vinton

  3. 3t Todd Davis-Iowa City

 Heat 2


  1. 50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin

  2. 70 Brandon Hennick-Central City

  3. 95 Ed Sanger-Postville


  1. 77  Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls

  2. 79 Mish

  3. 3 McGowan

  4. 50 Eckrich

  5. 98.1 Bobby Hansen-Center Point

  6. 1m Rob Moss-Iowa City

  7. 30 Jim Burbridge-Delhi

  8. 95 Sanger

  9. 51 Mel Abels-Freeport, IL

  10. H2O Paul Watters-Cedar Falls

  11. 9 Dick Steadman-Hiawatha

  12. 61R Jon Rogers-Freeport, IL

  13. 5 Wade Halverson-Elgin

  14. 3t Davis

  15. 70 Hennick

Farley Speedway


By: Jerry Mackey

Home ] Up ]

Copyright 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter