SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

Aikey Wins Fifth of Season At Farley Speedway; Barker Wins for Eighth Time


The NASCAR Weekly Racing Series presented by Dodge was back in action at the Farley Speedway on East Dubuque Savings Bank and Choo Choo Charlies Kid night on Friday night July 12th.


Jeff Aikey recorded his fifth Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation NASCAR Late Model feature win in the 25 lap main event. Aikey started 11th in the main event and was able to put his car anywhere he wanted on the smooth fast high banked mile dirt track. Aikey was running second when a caution bunched the field. Aikey was able to overtake race leader Dave Eckrich shortly after the restart and then went on to build a comfortable margin. At the checkers it was Dave Eckrich following Aikey under the checkers. Josh McGowan turned in another consistent top five finish with a third ahead of Bobby Hansen.


The Quarter Master Modified feature saw Ron Barker take another win, making his win total an incredible eight wins in the 2002 season. Barker worked to the front using both the low and high grooves from his fifth row start. Barker and Jed Hurst had quite a battle for the lead before Barker was able to slip by and take command. Hurst ran a strong second ahead of Larry Herring.


The Pro Stock Feature event was won by a first time visitor to the Farley Speedway victory lane on Friday night. John Maher recently turned around a tough luck season with a win at the West Liberty Raceway, his good fortunes continued on Friday night with a win at Farley. Maher led the race flag to flag taking the win ahead of Jeff Tharp and Ty Kleiner.  


Jerry Merkes recently broke a dry spell of over a year with a win at Farley in the NASCAR Hobby Stock division. Friday night Merkes won his second feature in three weeks along with a second place finish. Merkes came from the sixth row and overtook leader Ed McIntyre on the 8th lap on his way to the win. McIntyre took second ahead of Larry Benn.


 Jason Roth drove his Toyota to his fifth win of the season in the growing Farley Flyer division. 24 cars took the green for the ten lap feature on Friday night. Roth threaded his way to the front from a 11th starting position to take the checkers ahead of Mark Jaeger.


The Farley Speedway ran their first full night of racing under the all new MUSCO lighting system on Friday night. Drivers and fans alike gave rave reviews in regards to the illumination of the entire facility.


The Farley Speedway is now set to host the two biggest days of racing for the summer on Friday and Saturday, July 19th and 20th. Friday night the Northern All Stars Late Models will run a complete program being headlined by a 50 lap feature with $7,000 going to the winner. Saturday the 20th the Renegade Dirt Car Series will run a full show with $10,000 going to the winner. The best dirt track Late Model drivers form the Eastern half of the country will be on hand to battle the best of the Midwest. Drivers like Mike Balzano, Chub Frank, Steve Shaver, Davey Johnson, Billy Moyer, Brian Birkhofer, Ray Guss Jr., Steve Boley, Bob Pierce and Sahnnon Babb are just a few of the stars of Late Model racing that are expected to compete. Both nights action will get underway at 7 p.m.


7/12/02 Farley Speedway Race Results


Farley Flyers


Heat 1.


  1. 31 Jason Roth-Hazel Green, WI

  2. 7K Travis Kaiser-Dyersville

  3. 68 Steve Stackis-Dubuque

Heat 2


  1. 14 Levi Benn-Dyersville

  2. 99.3 Mark Jaeger-Dyersville

  3. 8 Joe Sarazin-Dubuque



1.      31 Roth

2.      99.3 Jaeger

3.      91 Jim Thompson-Delhi

4.      38S R.J. Simon-Farley

5.      14 Benn

6.      7K Kaiser

7.      17 Randy Leehan-Apple River, IL

8.      68 Stackis

9.      17X Joel Steinman-Brodhead, WI

10.  66 Tony Brimeyer-Dubuque

11.  00X Ryan Simon-Farley

12.  79 Cliff Schanbeck-Delaware

13.  8 Sarazin

14.  01 Damien Miller-Dubuque

15.  21k Danny Kennedy-Dubuque

16.  71 Adam Wills-Hazel Green, WI

17.  75 Chad Naderman-Farley

18.  1K Tim Koppes-Cascade

19.  95 Marty McNabb-Maquoketa

20.  131 Chris Roth-Cuba City, WI

21.  69 Becky Roth-Cuba City, WI

22.  1t Mark Thul-Dubuque

23.  00 John Flury-Epworth

24.  21 Randy Madigan-Dubuque


NASCAR Hobby Stocks


Heat 1


1.      8K Jerry Merkes-Farley

2.      28 Ed McIntyre-Delhi

3.      98 Jason Rauen-Farley


Heat 2


1.      13 Larry Benn-Dyersville

2.      18 Danny Young-Anamosa

3.      38 . T.J. Leslein-Durango



1.      8K Merkes

2.      28 McIntyre

3.      13 Benn

4.      38 Leslein

5.      33 Jim Turpin-Shullsburg, WI

6.      44S B.J. Schmidt-Dubuque

7.      97 Steve Dunkel-Worthington

8.      18 Young

9.      44 Kory Haverly-Anamosa.

10.  23 Dennis Etten-Wyoming

11.  73L Jason Laue-Freeport, IL

12.  5 Norb Ahlers-Earlville

13.  89 Kelly Welter-Dubuque   

14.  B4JR. Brian Dirks-Anamosa

15.  59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL

16.  98 Rauen

17.  26 Tom Darrow-Monticello


NASCAR Pro Stocks


Heat 1

1.      69 John Maher-West Branch

2.      20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI

3.      22 Jeff valentine-Dubuque


Heat 2


1.      35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque

2.      16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI

3.      2k Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque



1.      69 Maher

2.      12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque

3.      20 Kleiner

4.      16 Dan Shelliam-Hazel Green, WI

5.      22 Valentine

6.      35 Brokus

7.      2K Kennedy

8.      1 John Walker-Cedar Rapids

9.      23 Jim Amos-Peosta

10.  97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville


Quarter Master Modifieds


Heat 1


1.      10 Jed Hurst-Hazel Green

2.      37 B Ron Barker-Dubuque

3.      3 Jason Schuller-Dubuque


Heat 2


1.      24 Randy Less-Hopkinton

2.      74 Scott Nesteby-Dubuque

3.      96 Larry Herring-Lone Tree




1.      37B Barker

2.      10 Hurst

3.      96 Herring

4.      3 Schueller

5.      74 Nesteby

6.      33 Jim Burbridge-Delhi

7.      B3 Russ Olson-Cedar Rapids

8.      39 Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL

9.      00 Josh Vinnedge-Forreston, IL

10.  27 Mark Schulte-Delhi

11.  24 Less

12.  33 Steve Wetter-Platteville, WI

13.  17 Bill Flannagan-Cedar Rapids

14.  1D Mel Saffran-Dubuque

15.  24 Jan Messer-Manchester

16.  57 Ryan Naab-Dubuque


Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation NASCAR Late Models


Heat 1


  1. 79 Darren Mish-Cassville, WI

  2. 3 Josh McGowan-Vinton

  3. 77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls

 Heat 2


  1. 58 Dave Eckrich-Oxford

  2. 50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin

  3. 21 Luke Merfeld-Dubuque


  1. 77  Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls

  2. 58 Eckrich

  3. 3 McGowan

  4. 98.1 Bobby Hansen-Center Point

  5. 50 Eckrich

  6. 61R Jon Rogers-Freeport, IL

  7. 79 Mish

  8. 33g Dan Galant-Clinton

  9. 95 Ed Sanger-Postville

  10. 1m Rob Moss-Iowa City

  11. S1 Steve Hunter-Hopkinton

  12. 37 Rollie Frink-Davenport

  13. 11 Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI

  14. 21 Merfeld

  15. H2O Paul Watters-Cedar Falls

Farley Speedway


By: Jerry Mackey

Home ] Up ]

Copyright 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter