SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

Dennis Erb JR. Scores UMP Late Model Win At Davenport Speedway

Ron Barker Tops Modifieds


Davenport, Iowa: Dennis Erb Jr. was able to overtake race leader Denny Eckrich on lap number 21 of the 30 lap main event and went on to record the win in the UMP Challenge of Champions event on the big mile Davenport Speedway. The SPI crew headed by Rod Hain spent countless hours working on the track and were able provide the racers with a very good race track. The wide track provided plenty of wheel to wheel action in both feature events. The Late Model feature took to the track with Dennis Erb Jr. on the pole position by virtue of his fast dash win. Denny Eckrich was able to take over the top spot on lap number three and moved out to a ten car length advantage. Erb Jr. began to reel Eckrich back in as the laps wound down. Denny Eckrich developed a slow leak in his left front tire late in the race but was able to finish in second on a flat tire. Dave Eckrich ran a strong race in taking third at the finish line ahead of Tony Izzo Jr. with Jeff Laue recording a fifth place finish.



In addition to the Late Models the Modifieds were also in action. Ron Barker turned in another dominating Davenport performance. Barker took the win in his heat race and despite drawing a third row start was able to take over the lead before one lap was completed in the main event. Barker was able to hold off the persistent charges of Mitch Way as the race went green until Way retired with mechanical problems on lap number 16. Steve Wetter took over second and crossed the finish line well behind Barker. Jason Schueller crossed the line in third ahead of Sean Rupp and Mark Schulte.

Race Results

Davenport Speedway


UMP Late Models

Heat 1

50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin, Iowa
28 Dennis Erb Jr.-Carpentersville, IL
12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque, Iowa

Heat 2

58 Dave Eckrich-Oxford, Iowa
45 L Jeff Laue-Burlington, Iowa
50S Steve Morgan-Freeport, IL


Fast Dash

28 Erb Jr.
58 Eckrich
50 Eckrich


30 Lap Feature

1. 28 Erb Jr.

2. 50 Eckrich

3. 58 Eckrich

4. 16 Tony Izzo Jr.-Utica, IL

5. 45L Laue

6. 87 Clint Hines-Andalusia, IL

7. 56 Gary Webb-Blue Grass, IA

8. 50S Morgan

9. 12 Tharp

10. 21H Brian Harris-Davenport

11. 00 Mark Schaumacher-East Moline, IL

12. 1M Rob Moss-Iowa City, IA

13. 11 Steve Ihm-Kieler, WI

DNS 26 Steve Boley-West Liberty, Iowa


Heat 1

1. 33 Steve Wetter-Platteville, WI

2. 4D Bret Diercks-Bettendorf, IA

3. 43 Milo Veloz Jr.-Colona, IL

Heat 2

1. 37B Ron Barker-Dubuque, IA

2. 01M Mitch Way-Davenport, IA

3. 11 Ray Cox Jr.-Maquoketa, IA

20 lap feature

1. 37B Barker

2. 33 Wetter

3. 3 Jason Schueller-Dubuque, IA

4. 15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque, IA

5. 27 Mark Schulte-Delhi, IA

6. 44 Wade Lee-Muscatine, IA

7. 7J Jacob Seegmiller-Dubuque, IA

8. O1m Way

9. 43 Veloz Jr.

10. 5d Bob Dominacki-Bettendorf, IA

11. 11 Cox Jr.

DNS 1A Rich Smith-Davenport

4D Diercks

G1 Mike Garland-Morrison, IL



Davenport Speedway


By: Jerry Mackey

Home ] Up ]

Copyright 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter