SPI Logo2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo



August 26, 2001

Terry Neal used patience and the cushion to nab his second NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature event at the Dubuque Speedway on Sunday August 25th.   

After failing to qualify out of the heat races, Neal won the consolation event and the right to start the race n the eighteenth position.  Wasting no time and avoiding early wrecks, Neal climbed up into the sixth position by the sixth lap by running his car on the bottom of the racetrack.  Once inside the top five, Neal switched to the cushion and began his assault on leader Gary Webb.  Running side-by-side from lap eleven until seventeen, Webb and Neal swapped the lead several times before the final caution interrupted their battle.  Once racing resumed, Webb shot into the lead on the bottom, opening up a six car length lead that Neal was forced to whittle away as laps wound down.  Dead even again by lap 21, Neal took the lead for good on lap 23, crossing underneath the checkers about three car lengths ahead of the defending track champion.  Darren Miller ended his three race win streak by finishing a close third, with Ace Ihm and Matt Furman rounding out the top five. 

Scott Megonigle made his first visit to the Dubuque Speedway pay off in fine fashion, with a run from fifteenth to the lead in Modified action.  Megonigle took the lead following a lap nine restart when leader Scott Olson looped his car in the first corner, but was forced to defend his spot from the hard charge of Ron Barker and Ryan Dolan.  Staying on the bottom of the track proved to be the key for Megonigle as he managed to hold off Barker at the line, with Dolan third. 

Jeff Tharp closed in on points leader Dan Shelliam going into the final night of Pro Stock action, cutting his deficit to only 10 points by taking home the Pro Stock trophy.   Dan Welp was in position to back up his previous weeks victory by leading the first nine laps through several cautions, but was passed on a restart when Tharp dove low in the first corner and took the lead.   Tharp was forced to defend his spot from Ty Kleiner and Shelliam in the closing laps, but held on when those two began battling for second.  Kleiner held on to second ahead of Shelliam, Jeff Kennedy and Bobby Moyer.  Jim Turpin posted his first Hobby Stock feature win by parlaying his pole position into the lead, surviving heavy pressure from Duane Ahmann late in the race.  Jerry Merkes finished second ahead of Jerry Miles and Dave Wada after TJ Leslein was disqualified in post race inspection.  Chad Hallahan tightened the Fun Car points by winning his third feature of the year ahead of Brian Strang, Kelly Welter and Brad Strang.  Ray Fawcett kept his points lead after being moved up two positions in the final rundown into fifth when Lance Mish and Matt Christ were disqualified in post-race tech inspection.  

Next Sunday, September 2nd will be the final 2001 event on the Dubuque Speedway, with Season Championships.  Late Models will compete in a 35-lap feature event with extra purse in all divisions.  Hot Laps are scheduled for 6 pm with racing to follow.   Raceday information and instant results can be found on your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory categories #3741 and 3740.   For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com    

1. 12n  Terry Neal  Ely
2. 56  Gary Webb  Blue Grass
3. 32d  Darren Miller  Chadwick IL
4. 11  Ace Ihm  Hazel Green WI
5. 51x  Matt Furman  Iowa City
6. 6   Mark Curwen  Hazel Green WI
7. 8  Mark Merfeld  Dubuque
8. 50  Denny Eckrich  Coralville
9. 77  Kurt Kile  West Liberty
10. 88  Kevin Kile West Liberty
11. 87  Clint Hines  Taylor Ridge IL
12. 66  Fred Remely  Blue Grass
13. 58  Dave Eckrich  Coralville
14. 77j  Steve Johnson  Camanche
15. 21 Luke Merfeld  Dubuque
16. 3  Josh McGowan  Vinton 
17. 98.1  Bobby Hansen  Dike
18. 54  Ryan Dolan Lisbon
19. 13k  Denny Petersen  Tipton 
20. 35 Dave Englekens  Clinton
21. 79  Darren Mish  Cassville WI
22. 9  Curt Hansen  Dike
23. 8m  Mark Ward  Muscatine
24. 95  Ed Sanger  Postville
25. 7x  Andy Nezworksi  Davenport
26. 37  Rollie Frink  Davenport

7 Greg Hunter  Independence
56x  Rich Lewis  Davenport
33g  Dan Galant  Clinton 
b27  Bob Silaggi  Freeport IL
51  Mel Abels  Freeport IL
27  Ed McGuire Monroe WI
 1b  Kevin Miller  Freeport IL
1m  Robbie Moss  Iowa City
61r  Jon Rogers  Freeport IL 
44  Duane Coulson  East Dubuque IL

1. m2 Scott Megonigle  Cedar Rapids
2. 37b  Ron Barker  Dubuque
3. 16  Ryan Dolan  Lisbon
4. d1  Rich Smith  Davenport/1d  Mel Saffran  Dubuque
5. 74  Scott Nesteby  Asbury
6. 4  Jerry Miles  Dubuque
7. 63  Scott Olson  Preston
8. 24m  Jan Messer  Manchester 
9. 01m  Mitch Way
10. 15  Sean Rupp  Dubuque
11. 14  Tim Nesteby  Dubuque
12. 73j  John Irwin 
13. 20 Cory Burmeister  Glen Haven WI
14. 0  Jeremy English  Farley
15. 5d  Bob Dominacki  Bettendorf
16. 2  Bryan Naab 
17. 3  Jason Schueller  Dubuque
18. 33w  Steve Wetter  Platteville WI
19. 10  Jed Hurst  Hazel Green WI
20. 27  Mark Schulte  Delhi
21. b1  Jeff Larson  Freeport IL
22. 20x  John Fellman  Blue Grass
23. 18b  Josh Brestrup  Dubuque
24. 33  John Burbridge  Delhi
41  Dennis Dugan  Colesburg 

NOTE:  Rich Smith was disqualified in post-race tech inspection but  reinstated into the 4th position after the results became official.  Both Smith and Mel Saffran were paid for fourth position, with all other finishing positions as noted. 

1. 12  Jeff Tharp  Dubuque
2. 20  Ty Kleiner  Potosi WI
3. 16  Dan Shelliam  Hazel Green WI
4. 2k  Jeff Kennedy  Dubuque
5. 25 Bobby Moyer  Dubuque
6. 31  Jeff Hayunga  German Valley IL
7. 22  Jeff Valentine  Dubuque
8. 18  Brian Culbertson  Dubuque
9. 71s  Kevin Schroeder  Low Moor
10. 71  Bruce VanGordon  Dubuque
11. 64  Mike Raisbeck  Platteville WI
12. 33  Randy Franzen  Marion
13. 4  Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL
14. 78  Bobby Goerdt  Dubuque
15. 91  Rich Pica  Prairie Du Chein WI
16. 21  Dan  Welp  East Dubuque IL
17. 17  Jim Rymarz
18. 75  Duane Wagner  Dickeyville WI
19. 35  Jim Brokus  Dubuque
20. 88  Duane Roth  Dubuque

1. 33  Jim Turpin  Shullsberg WI
2. 98  Duane Ahmann  Epworth 
3. 8k  Terry Merkes  Farley
4. 23m  Jerry Miles  Dubuque
5. 29  Dave Wada  Muscatine
6. 97  Jeff Reinert  Farley
7. 28  Ed McIntyre  Delhi
8. 61  Scott Reichers  Belmont WI
9. 52  Pat Coleman Dubuque
10. 81  KC Ansel  Dubuque
11. 1  Tom Boyes Dubuque
12. 23  Jason Udelhofen  Platteville WI
13. 59  Mike Hughes  Galena IL
14. 20  Dan Albright  Lisbon 
15. 13  Larry Benn  Dyersville
16. 20x  Jarvis  Eastlick  Platteville WI
17. 9  Dave Elliot  Muscatine
18. 30 Mark Massey Farley

38  TJ Leslein  Dubuque
7b  Randy Benn Earlville

1. 7  Chad Hallahan  Dubuque
2. 26  Brian Strang  Dubuque
3. 89  Kelly Welter  Farley
4. 66  Brad Strang  Dubuque
5. 64  Ray Fawcett Benton WI
6. 20  Mike Wild  Dubuque
7. 11p  Tom Pluemer 
8. 44 BJ Schmitt  Dubuque
9. 6  Todd Moore  Dubuque
10. 27  Lee Ruf
11. 11  Ann Brown  Dubuque
12. 11r  Ralph White 
13. 98  Terry Turpin  Platteville WI
14. 38  Russ Yonkovic  Dubuque 

70  Lance Mish  Cassville WI
8c  Matt Christ

Copyright 2001-2002 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
PO Box 10902
Cedar Rapids, IA 52410
Last modified: April 20, 2002

Hit Counter