SPI Logo2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo



June 10, 2001

Denny Eckrich kept the season long points race close at the Dubuque Speedway on Sunday June 10th by winning his second NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model event of the season and pulling within 4 points of defending National Champion Gary Webb.

Starting the race in the eleventh and twelfth spots, Eckrich and Webb quickly found their way to the front of the pack, with Eckrich taking the lead away from pole sitter Brian Webb by the fifth lap. Quickly opening up a lead, Eckrich saw his advantage erased by the eighth circuit when caution slowed the field. The ensuing restart saw Webb get underneath Eckrich but unable to pull into the lead as the pair raced side-by-side around the high-banked clay oval for several laps. Webb eventually abandoned the bottom of the racetrack and fell in line behind Eckrich, staying several car lengths back but within striking distance as the pair began encountering slower traffic with ten laps to go. Eckrich found the quicker way through the lapped traffic, opening up his lead to around 10 car lengths at the checkers. Ace Ihm took advantage of the heavy lapped traffic to pressure Webb several times as the race drew to a close, but was unable to find a clean spot to attempt a pass. Rounding out the top five behind Ihm was Ryan Dolan and Ray Guss Jr, who charged from nineteenth to fifth at the checkers.

Ryan Dolan backed up his previous weeks win in Modified action, battling Jason Schueller and numerous caution periods. Schueller jumped out to the early lead ahead of Mark Schulte while Dolan began the event in the eighth spot. The race for the lead began following a lap four restart when Dolan lined up just behind Schueller in the second spot. Dolan gave heavy pressure underneath Schueller on the restart before Ron Barker snuck underneath both of them to briefly assume the lead. Barker held the lead during a lap eight caution but quickly surrendered the top spot back to Dolan, who had suddenly found new life on the top of the racetrack. Schueller followed Dolanís lead to pass Barker for the second spot, as did Rich Smith late in the race. Barker held on to fourth ahead of Jed Hurst.

Jeff Kennedy notched the Pro Stock victory by a nose after sliding underneath leader Jeff Tharp on the final corner of the race. Kennedy took the lead away from Bruce Van Gordon early in the event by riding the cushion, but saw Tharp close in and take the lead on the tenth lap. Kennedy stayed on the cushion for most of the remainder of the race before switching to the bottom of the track on the white flag lap, diving underneath Tharp as the pair entered the final corner and emerging with the lead as they raced to the checkers. Jeff Valentine finished a distant third ahead of Brian Culbertson and Dan Shelliam.

Larry Benn took home his second Hobby Stock feature win of the year by taking the lead away from Jarvis Eastlick on the seventh lap and cruising home to the easy win. Scott Riechers, Eastlick, Jeff Reinert and Jerry Merkes rounded out the top five after Jed Frieburgerís car failed to make post-race weight and was disqualified. Kelly Welter took home his second straight Fun Car feature win ahead of Ray Fawcett and Brian Strang as the eleven car field raced from green to checkers without a caution flag.

Racing action continues this Sunday at the Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway, with hot laps for all five divisions of NASCAR stock cars scheduled for 6 pm and racing to follow. Raceday weather updates can be found by calling your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory category #3741, with post-race results in category #3740. For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com.

1. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
2. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
3. 11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
4. 54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
5. 12 Ray Guss Jr Milan IL
6. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
7. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
8. 33 Dan Galant Davenport
9. b56 Brian Webb Davenport
10. 9 Curt Hansen Dike
11. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
12. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
13. b27 Bob Silaggi Freeport IL
14. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
15. 87 Clint Hines Taylor Ridge IL
16. 17 Marty Scheckel Bellevue
17. 15 Cameron Granger West Union
18. 8 Mark Merfeld Dubuque
19. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
20. 41j Jeremiah Hurst Dubuque
21. 35 Dave Englekens Clinton

1. 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
2. 3 Jason Schueller Dubuque
3. d1 Rich Smith Bettendorf
4. 37b Ron Barker Dubuque
5. 10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
6. 5d Bob Dominacki Bettendorf
7. 63 Scott Olson Preston
8. 15 Sean Rupp Dubuque
9. 39 Bob Bollen Freeport IL
10. 11 Mike Burbridge Delhi
11. 33w Steve Wetter Platteville WI
12. 93.7 Ken Kostenbader Freeport IL
13. 27 Mark Schulte Delhi
14. 89 Tom Pestka Dubuque
15. 24m Jan Messer Manchester
16. 18b Josh Brestrup Dubuque
17. 20 Cory Burmeister Glen Haven WI
18. 76 Matt Mish Cassville WI
19. 74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
20. 33 John Burbridge Delhi
21. g1 Mike Garland Morrison IL
22. 4 Jerry Miles Dubuque
23. b1 Jeffery Larson Freeport IL
24. 14 Tim Nesteby Dubuque
00 Cory Hallahan Dubuque

1. 2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
2. 12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
3. 22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque
4. 18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
5. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
6. 71 Bruce VanGordon Dubuque
7. 43g Tom Garner East Dubuque IL
8. 25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
9. 4 Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL
10. 71s Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
11. 20 Ty Kleiner Potosi WI
12. 78 Bobby Goerdt Dubuque
13. 75 Duane Wagner Dickeyville WI
14. 90 Bo Richard Platteville WI
15. 88 Duane Roth Dubuque
35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
91 Rich Pica Prarie Du Chein WI

1. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
2. 61 Scott Reichers Belmont WI
3. 20x Jarvis Eastlick Platteville WI
4. 97 Jeff Reinert Farley
5. 8k Terry Merkes Farley
6. 30 Mark Massey Farley
7. 33 Jim Turpin Shullsberg WI
8. 31 John Peters Leaf River IL
9. 81 KC Ansel Dubuque
10. 52 Pat Coleman Dubuque
11. 20 Dan Albright Lisbon
12. 28 Ed McIntyre Delhi
6 Jed Freiburger Dubuque

1. 89 Kelly Welter Farley
2. 64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI
3. 26 Brian Strang Dubuque
4. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
5. 6 Todd Moore Dubuque
6. 20 Mike Wild Dubuque
7. 70 Lance Mish Cassville WI
8. 66 Brad Strang Dubuque
9. 44 BJ Schmitt Dubuque
10. 33 Joe Huenefeld Platteville WI
11. 11 Ann Brown Dubuque

June 8-10, 2001 Speedshots of The Week

Copyright © 2001-2002 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
PO Box 10902
Cedar Rapids, IA 52410
Last modified: April 20, 2002

Hit Counter