SPI Logo


2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

Deery checkers fly at Farley for Guss

FARLEY, Iowa (Sept. 12, 2002) - He took his time getting to the front, but it didn't take Ray Guss Jr. long to take the checkers.

Guss moved passed LaVern Carey after a re-start with five laps to go, then held off Carey and Rob Toland to win the Deery Brothers Summer Series race at Farley Speedway.

The last of 14 events for I.M.C.A. Sunoco Late Models on the 2002 schedule, the Thursday night event was part of the Yankee Dirt Track Classic.

The second-place finish was a career-best for Carey. Todd Cooney and Steve Boley rounded out the top five. Tom Darbyshire's sixth-place run was good enough to land him second in the overall point standings, while Terry Schlipman completed his series championship season with a 10th place showing.

Mike Karhoff cemented series rookie of the year honors, finishing 14th.

Greg Hunter was the driver to catch at the start, as he took the lead from the initial green flag and stayed in control through the first 20 of 50 laps.

Carey started eighth and worked his way ahead one car at a time. He slipped by Steve Ihm for second, then passed Hunter for the lead on the 21st circuit.

With the middle of the pack battling, it looked like Carey would walk away as he pulled further and further ahead.

Toland led the pursuit when a lap 46 caution bunched the field back up. The veteran Guss took advantage of the opportunity, passing Toland and Carey in the late going for the victory.

The win was the career 11th for Guss and his first on the Deery circuit since June 24 of 1999. He also became the 11th different driver to win a series event this season.

Heat race wins went to Guss, Brenton Slocum, Toland, Clint Morehouse and Chris Smyser. Jeff Aikey and Russell won "B" features.

Kelly Tapper started last in the field of 26 and finished ninth.


Feature Results - 1. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill.; 2. LaVern Cary, Ionia; 3. Rob Toland, Hillsdale, Ill.; 4. Todd Cooney, Des Moines; 5. Steve Boley, Oxford; 6. Tom Darbyshire, Morning Sun; 7. Dennis Erb, Carpentersville, Ill.; 8. Jeff Aikey, Cedar Falls; 9. Kelly Tapper, Boone; 10. Terry Schlipman, Mendon, Ill.; 11. Mark Burgtorf, Quincy, Ill.; 12. Dave Stanton, Marshalltown; 13. Dale Hackwell Jr., Washburn; 14. Mike Karhoff, Quincy, Ill.; 15. Greg Hunter, Independence; 16. Dale Stolte, Springville; 17. Chris Smyser, Lancaster, Mo.; 18. Steve 'Ace' Ihm, Hazel Green, Wis.; 19. Ryan Griffith, Webster City; 20. Clint Morehouse, Milan, Ill.; 21. Gary Russell, Biggsville, Ill.; 22. Chuck Mayerhofer, Dixon; 23. Boone McLaughlin, Mediapolis; 24. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 25. Brent Slocum, West Burlington; 26. Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque.

Final Top 20 Deery Series Point Standings
1. Schlipman 548
2. Darbyshire 456
3. Slocum 434
4. Russell 430
5. Hurst 380
6. Karhoff 366
7. Lonnie Bailey, Quincy, Ill. 338
8. DeFrance 328
9. Griffith 318
10. Mike Smith, Jewell 304
11. McLaughlin 300
12. Burgtorf 290
13. Tapper 284
14. Tommy Elston, Keokuk, Iowa 264
15. Jeff Maher, Elmwood, Ill. 252
16. Aikey 242
17. Stolte 204
18. Johnny Johnson, West Burlington, Iowa 196
19. Smyser 190
20. Thad Wilson, Moline, Ill. 184

by Kelly Becker

Copyright 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: April 22, 2004

Hit Counter