SPI Logo


2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.



June 13, 2001

Brian Birkhofer used patience and a midrace caution to take home his second Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout trophy of the 2001 season.

Pole sitter Steve Boley shot out into the early lead, showing his bumper to the 26-car field until lap eight when Denny Eckrich stuck his car on the bottom of the racetrack exiting the second corner. The pair raced side-by-side down the backstretch and into the third corner, where Eckrich used the shorter line to advance into the lead. Completely dominate at that point of the 50-lap feature, Eckrich began lapping cars one lap later, stretching his lead to almost one half of the racetrack over Boley and lapping up to twelfth place. Only the events first caution slowed Eckrich on lap 29, but it was a costly one for the leader; erasing a huge advantage and removing the lapped cars from between himself and the rest of the pack. When racing resumed Birkhofer found himself in the fifth position and wasted no time in utilizing the fresh breath afforded the field. Advancing one position between each of the yellow flags that flew on laps 33, 34 and 36, Birkhofer used the final restart to take the second spot away from Gary Webb and set his sights on the leader. After experimenting with several different racing lines around the high-banked 3/8’s oval, Birkhofer settled in on the cushion after unsuccessfully running underneath Eckrich for several laps. That proved to be the winning ticket after Birkhofer snagged the lead away with nine laps to go. Clear sailing allowed Birkhofer to extend his lead to 20 car lengths at the checkers. Jeff Aikey and Darren Miller followed Birkhofer past Eckrich in the closing laps to finish second and third, with Webb fading to fifth at the checkers. Terry Neal advanced out of the consolation event to finish sixth, ahead of Boley, Darren Mish, Rick Wendling and Ray Guss Jr.

The next Budweiser Open Late Model Shootout will be the 24th Annual Yankee Dirt Track Classic, held at the Farley Speedway from September 12th to 15th. This will be the first season that Iowa’s oldest and most prestigious event will be contested under Open Shootout rules, with the winner of the 100 lapper taking home more than $15,000 in prize money. Regular racing action will continue every Sunday until Labor Day at the Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway, with hot laps for all five divisions of NASCAR stock cars scheduled for 6 pm and racing to follow. Raceday weather updates can be found by calling your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory category #3741, with post-race results in category #3740. For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com.

1. 15 Brian Birkhofer Muscatine IA
2. 77 Jeff Aikey Cedar Falls IA
3. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
4. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville IA
5. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass IA
6. 12n Terry Neal Ely IA
7. 26 Steve Boley West Liberty IA
8. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
9. 78 Rick Wendling Hazelton IA
10. 12 Ray Guss Jr Milan IL
11. 1k John Anderson Omaha NE
12. 87 Clint Hines Taylor Ridge IL
13. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche IA
14. 54 Ryan Dolan Lisbon IA
15. 90 Mike Cothron Moline IL
16. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque IA
17. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
18. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike IA
19. b56 Brian Webb Davenport IA
20. 41j Jeremiah Hurst Dubuque IA
21. 13k Denny Petersen Tipton IA
22. 95 Ed Sanger Postville IA
23. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville IA
24. 8f Sonny Findling Kirksville MO
25. 52 Tim Lance Mapleton IL
26. 25 Steve Lance Sr Mapleton IL

166 Joe Izzo Bridgeview IL
72 Terry Huizel Freeport IL
51 Matt Furman Iowa City IA
50x Steve Morgan Freeport IL
45k John Kresser

Defending NKF Champ Barker returns to victory lane at Dubuque

DUBUQUE, Iowa (June 13, 2001) – During the 2000 National Kidney Foundation Heartland Tour for a Cure for Modifieds Ron Barker found his way to victory lane five times enroute to the Tour championship. His first win on the 2001 Tour came on Wednesday night in a topsy-turvy event at his hometown track, the Dubuque Speedway.

Drivers were going from front to back and back to front throughout the twenty lap main event. On the start Mike Burbridge made a strong move in turn three to grab the lead from his second row start, but he could not make it stick in turn four looping the car and forcing a restart. Scott Megonigle paced the first official lap before yielding to Scott Nesteby on lap two. With Megonigle and Rich Smith stalking him close behind Nesteby would lead the race until the ninth lap when the red flag appeared as Jeff Valentine turned his car over one time in turn four.

It was on the restart that the race turned as contact between Smith and Nesteby sent the field scrambling. Both drivers were sent to the rear and Smith retired the #D1 to the infield. Dan Chapman who was running fourth at the time actually suffered the most damage as he headed into the pits to change a flat tire and to correct some sheet metal damage. When the green flag re-appeared it was Megonigle again out front, but only for the tenth circuit as Ron Barker slipped by on the bottom groove the next lap. Current Tour point leader Darin Thye charged into second, but was soon replaced by Jed Hurst. Chapman was on the fly from the back and as Barker nailed down the win, Chapman worked his way past Hurst for the runner-up honors. Hurst, Thye and Scott Fridley, who had started fifteenth, completed the top five.

The NKF Tour Modifieds will be joined by the Tour Hobby Stocks for three events next week, June 19th, 20th & 21st. Tuesday night will be at the Audubon Speedway, Wednesday night at the Independence Motor Speedway and Thursday night at the Cresco Speedway for the annual Mighty Howard County Fair.


NKF Heartland Tour for a Cure Modifieds

1st Heat – 1. Bob Dominacki, Bettendorf 2. Scott Nesteby, Asbury 3. Dan Chapman, Clarence 4. Scott Megonigle, Cedar Rapids 5. Mike Burbridge, Delhi

2nd Heat – 1. Ron Barker, Dubuque 2. Rich Smith, Davenport 3. Mark Schulte, Delhi 4. Scott Olson, Preston 5. Jed Hurst, Dubuque

A-Main – 1. Barker 2. Chapman 3. Hurst 4. Darin Thye, Burlington 5. Scott Fridley, Mechanicsville 6. Nesteby 7. Megonigle 8. Jason Schueller, Dubuque 9. Dominacki 10. Olson 11. Burbridge 12. Schulte 13. Smith 14. John Bull, Rock Island IL 15. Scott Stecher, Muscatine 16. Jeff Valentine, Dubuque

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter