SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


July 8, 2001

Gary Webb notched his fourth victory of the season during the 35 lap Mid-Season Championships at the Dubuque Speedway on Sunday July 8th.   

Starting the race in twelfth, Webb quickly marched his way to the front of the pack, taking the lead away from Mark Merfeld on the eighth lap.   Merfeld spent the first several laps racing with his brother Luke Merfeld after taking the lead away from Curt Hanson on the second circuit.  While the Merfeld’s were engaged in a dogfight for the lead when Webb closed in and split the brother’s cars to take the lead.  Webb kept the hammer down, lapping up to the 13th place car before the only caution came out on lap 24.  With lapped cars removed and a double file restart, Darren Miller looked to be the biggest beneficiary, lining up behind Webb in the third position.  Miller was unable to capitalize on his good fortune, slipping off the top of the racetrack and back into seventh on the restart, allowing Darren Mish to close in on the second place car of Luke Merfeld.  Mish took the position away in the closing laps to finish a distant second ahead of Luke Merfeld, Denny Eckrich and Mark Merfeld.  

Ron Barker came out on top of the Modified main event after fending off a furious charge by the red hot Jason Schueller.  Schueller had won three straight features on the high banked 3/8 mile oval coming into the evenings race, and looked to make it four straight as the cars sped down the backstretch for the final time.  Schueller found some extra traction on the top of the racetrack, allowing him to pull alongside the low  running Barker, but ran out of room as the cars entered the third corner.  Finishing behind Schueller in third was Jed Hurst, followed by points leader Ryan Dolan and Steve Wetter.  Jim Brokus came out on top of a wild Pro Stock feature that saw himself, Dan Shelliam and Jeff Tharp locked in a three way battle for the lead during the closing stages.  The cars exited the second corner three wide, but contact between Shelliam and Tharp allowed Brokus to pull ahead.  Shelliam beat Tharp back to the line followed by Jeff Kennedy and Ty Kleiner.  Duane Ahman inherited the Bomber winners trophy after apparent victor Jim Turpin was disqualified in post race tech inspection.  Prior to the DQ, Turpin and Ahman waged a fierce war on the track, running nose-to-tail over half the event.  Russ Yonkovic cruised to the easy Fun Car win ahead of Brian Strang and BJ Schmitt. 

Racing action continues this Sunday at the Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway, with hot laps for all five divisions of NASCAR stock cars scheduled for 6 pm and racing to follow.  Raceday weather updates can be found by calling your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory category #3741, with post-race results in category #3740.  Highlights from all Simmons Promotions INC events will be shown on Fox 28/40 at 10:30 am on Sunday Mornings.  For more information, contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com.

1. 56  Gary Webb  Blue Grass
2. 79  Darren Mish  Cassville WI
3. 21  Luke Merfeld  Dubuque
4. 50  Denny Eckrich  Coralville
5. 8    Mark Merfeld  Dubuque
6. 41j Jeremiah Hurst  Dubuque
7. 32d  Darren Miller  Chadwick IL
8. 9  Curt Hansen  Dike
9. 54  Ryan Dolan Lisbon
10. 44  Duane Coulson  East Dubuque IL
11. 11  Ace Ihm  Hazel Green WI
12. b56  Brian Webb  Davenport
13. 95  Ed Sanger  Postville
14. 98.1  Bobby Hansen  Dike
15. 27  Ed McGuire  Monroe WI
16. 61r  Jon Rogers  Freeport IL
17. 33  Dan Galant  Davenport
18. b27  Bob Silaggi  Freeport IL
19. 17  Marty Scheckel  Bellevue 
20. 1b  Kevin Miller  Freeport IL
21. 77j  Steve Johnson  Camanche
22.  37  Rollie Frink  Davenport

1. 37b  Ron Barker  Dubuque
2. 3  Jason Schueller  Dubuque
3. 10  Jed Hurst  Hazel Green WI
4. 16  Ryan Dolan  Lisbon
5. 33w  Steve Wetter  Platteville WI
6. 4  Jerry Miles  Dubuque
7. 15  Sean Rupp  Dubuque
8. 74  Scott Nesteby  Asbury
9. 27  Mark Schulte  Delhi
10. 00  Cory Hallahan  Dubuque
11. 76  Matt Mish  Cassville WI
12. 20  Cory Burmeister  Glen Haven WI
13. 27w  Grover Weber IV  Lancaster WI
14. 24m  Jan Messer  Manchester 
15. d1  Rich Smith  Bettendorf
16. 1d  Mel Saffrean  Dubuque

1. 35  Jim Brokus  Dubuque
2. 16  Dan Shelliam  Hazel Green WI
3. 12  Jeff Tharp  Dubuque
4. 2k  Jeff Kennedy  Dubuque
5. 20  Ty Kleiner  Potosi WI
6. 25 Bobby Moyer  Dubuque
7. 71  Bruce VanGordon  Dubuque
8. 90  Bo Richard  Lindon WI
9. 71s  Kevin Schroeder  Low Moor
10. 21  Dan  Welp  East Dubuque IL
11. 13  Dennis Pergande  Dubuque
12. 4  Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL
13. 75  Duane Wagner  Dickeyville WI
14. 22  Jeff Valentine  Dubuque
15. 18  Brian Culbertson  Dubuque
16. 43g  Tom Garner East Dubuque IL
17. 78  Bobby Goerdt  Dubuque

1. 98  Duane Ahmann  Epworth
2. 30 Mark Massey Farley
3. 28  Ed McIntyre  Delhi 
4. 8k  Terry Merkes  Farley
5. 97  Jeff Reinert  Farley
6. 61r  Scott Reichers  Belmont WI
7. 20x  Jarvis  Eastlick  Platteville WI
8. 13  Larry Benn  Dyersville
9. 81  KC Ansel  Dubuque
10. 52  Pat Coleman Dubuque
11. 23g  Randy Grant
12. 59  Mike Hughes  Galena IL
13. 11  Jason Brimeyer  Dubuque
33  Jim Turpin  Shullsberg WI

1. 38  Russ Yonkovic  Dubuque
2. 26  Brian Strang  Dubuque
3. 44  BJ Schmitt Dubuque
4. 64  Ray Fawcett Benton WI
5. 66  Brad Strang  Dubuque
6. 7  Chad Hallahan  Dubuque
7. 6  Todd Moore  Dubuque
8. 11  Ann Brown  Dubuque
9. 12  Jeremy Gengler  Lancaster WI
10. 70  Lance Mish  Cassville WI

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter