SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

Eckrich notches Farley win

FARLEY, Iowa (June 29, 2001) - Dave Eckrich took home his first NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature win of the season at the Farley Speedway on Legend’s Night, Friday June 29th.

Luke Merfeld took early command of the race by passing pole sitter Bobby Hansen on the first lap after several attempts to get the race underway. Using both numerous restarts and a higher groove than anyone else, Eckrich wasted no time in marching to the front, advancing from seventh on the initial grid into the lead on the fourth lap. Merfeld was able to stay within striking distance of the leader until just past the midway point of the 25-lap feature, when Terry Neal began pressuring for the runner up position. Merfeld was able to fend off all challenges until slipping off the bottom of the racetrack following a lap 23 restart. Josh McGowan also slid underneath Merfeld to advance from fifth to third in the final two circuits, with points leader Jeff Aikey rounding out the top five.

Modified action saw Rich Smith take his first feature win of the season after out dueling Ryan Dolan on a lap fourteen restart. Up until that point, it appeared that Scott Nesteby was headed towards victory lane after starting on the pole and jumping out to a comfortable lead following numerous restarts. A lap seven caution saw Russ Olson move into third, where he worked his way up to Nesteby’s rear bumper two laps later. Racing nose-to-tail around the bottom of the racetrack until lap fourteen when contact between the two cars resulted in Nesteby spinning out. Both cars were sent to the rear of the field for the restart, giving Smith and Dolan the front row. Gus Hughes also slipped by Dolan during the latter part of the race, with Ron Barker and Jim Burbridge rounding out the top five.

Pro Stock points leader Dan Shelliam posted his fourth feature win of the season by using a strong start to overtake early leader Jim Brokus on the fifth lap. Starting the race ninth, Shelliam found himself battling for second by the conclusion of the second lap and the lead two laps later. After sliding underneath Brokus for the lead, Shelliam planted his right rear tire on the cushion and opened up a comfortable lead while Brokus was locked in a three-way battle for the second position with Jeff Tharp and John Maher. A late race caution gave Brokus a final shot at the win by giving him an opportunity to dive underneath Shelliam for the lead as the two cars raced to the white flag. Although briefly in the lead; Brokus fell back to finish second ahead of John Maher, Jeff Kennedy and Jeff Valentine. Tharp was disqualified out of the third finishing position for failing to pass post race tech inspection.

Tom Boyes scored his first Hobby Stock feature win by capitalizing on his pole position to lead every lap. Larry Benn inherited the runner up spot when third place Mark Massey went for broke in the final corner of the race, taking himself and the second place car of Jeff Reinert out. TJ Leslein, Kory Haverly and Jerry Merkes rounded out the top five. Russ Yonkovic took home Fun Car honors ahead of Chris Hinrichs and Chad Hallahan.

This Friday, July 6th, the Farley Speedway will play host to the O’Reilly’s All Star Series, featuring a 50-lap main event. NASCAR Modifieds, Pro Stocks, Hobby Stocks and Fun Cars will also be competing on the high-banked half mile in points paying feature events. Hot laps will be held 45 minutes earlier than usual, 6:15 with racing to follow immediately. For more information contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com. For raceday updates and quick results afterwards, call your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory, category 3740 and 3741.


1. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville
2. 12n Terry Neal Ely
3. 3 Josh McGowan Vinton
4. 21 Luke Merfeld Dubuque
5. 77 Jeff Aikey Cedar Falls
6. 79 Darren Mish Cassville WI
7. 12 Ray Guss Jr Milan IL
8. 27 Ed McGuire Monroe WI
9. 44 Duane Coulson East Dubuque IL
10. 95 Ed Sanger Postville
11. 51 Matt Furman Iowa City
12. 98.1 Bobby Hansen Dike
13. 17 Marty Scheckel Bellevue
14. 8m Chuck Mayerhofer Dixon IL
15. 32c Chad Holliday Wilton
16. 61r John Rogers Freeport IL
17. 69 Todd Hormel West Liberty
18. 28c Brad Coin Davenport
19. 32 Tom Cannon Iowa City
20. 78 Rick Wendling Hazelton
21. h20 Paul Watters Waterloo
22. 11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
23. 4 Jim Aschenbrenner Waterloo
DNS - 70 Brandon Hennick Central City

1. d1 Rich Smith Bettendorf
2. 30 Gus Hughes Monticello
3. 16 Ryan Dolan Lisbon
4. 37b Ron Barker Dubuque
5. 50 Jim Burbridge Delhi
6. 74 Scott Nesteby Asbury
7. 96 Larry Herring Lone Tree
8. b3 Russ Olson Cedar Rapids
9. 00 Josh Vinnedge Forreston IL
10. d55 Scott Lemke Davis Junction IL
11. 14 Tim Nesteby Dubuque
12. 08 Mike Miller Freeport IL
13. 54 Doug Picray Monticello
14. 14w Jason Walrack Platteville WI
15. 27 Mark Schulte Delhi
16. 10 Jed Hurst Hazel Green WI
17. 11 Mike Burbridge Delhi
18. 9 Richard Steadman Hiawatha
19. 33 Steve Wetter Platteville WI
20. 57 Dennis Betzer Central City
21. 24 Randy Less Hopkinton

1. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
2. 35 Jim Brokus Dubuque
3. 69 John Maher West Branch
4. 2k Jeff Kennedy Dubuque
5. 22 Jeff Valentine Dubuque
6. 90 Bo Richard Platteville WI
7. 25 Bobby Moyer Dubuque
8. 25x Chad Simpson Marion
9. 71 Kevin Schroeder Low Moor
10. s1 Steve Hunter Hopkinton
11. 17s Dana Servoy Marion
12. 83 Jim Slaats Galena IL
13. 23 Jim Amos Peosta
14. 20 Ty Kleiner Potosi WI
15. 18 Brian Culbertson Dubuque
16. 32 Chris Simpson Marion
DQ - 12 Jeff Tharp Dubuque
DNS - 4 Kevin Duerr Scales Mound IL

1. 1 Tom Boyes Dubuque
2. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
3. 38 TJ Leslein Dubuque
4. 44 Kory Haverly Anamosa
5. 8k Jerry Merkes Farley
6. 81 KC Ansel Dubuque
7. 28 Ed McIntyre Delhi
8. 83 Rob Petsche Asbury
9. 97 Jeff Rienert Farley
10. 30 Mark Massey Farley
11. 98 Duane Ahmann Epworth
12. 22 Cory Bauer Manchester
13. 15 Phil Derganz
14. 20 Dan Albright Lisbon

1. 38 Russ Yonkovic Dubuque
2. 6c Chris Hinrichs Monticello
3. 7 Chad Hallahan Dubuque
4. 89 Kelly Welter Farley
5. 26 Brian Strang Dubuque
6. 64 Ray Fawcett Benton WI
7. 66 Brad Strang Dubuque
8. 6 Todd Moore Dubuque
9. b4jr Brian Diercks Anamosa
10. 30 Gary Hughes Monticello
11. 33 Nick McElmeel Monticello

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter