SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

April 14 West Liberty Results


Mother Nature intervened in the second NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature of the season at the West Liberty Raceway, forcing the feature event to be postponed until this Saturday April 21st. Racing action that was held saw Russ Olsen, Jason Gingrich and Matt Fulton pick up feature wins.

Olsen topped Miller Time Modified action by leading every lap but being forced to defend his position from a string of different challengers throughout the 20 lap event. Brian Sexton was first to hound Olsen, diving underneath on the sixth lap in an unsuccessfull attempt at the lead before dropping behind Terry Lawson following a lap eight restart. Lawson then stepped up to the plate, first looking for the lead on the restart and then settling in behind to defend his spot from Ryan Dolan's charge to the front from his sixteenth starting spot. Lawson was able to keep second intially, holding off Dolan and challenging for the lead by hugging the lowside of the track while Olsen and Dolan kept pace on the highside. Eventually Dolan's path proved quicker when he moved into second on lap seventeen. Unable to get his car around Olsen, Dolan finished a close second ahead of Lawson, Sexton and Bob Dominacki, who parlayed his fifteenth starting position into a fifth place finish.

Gingrich rocketed from fourth to first as the Pro Stock feature headed down the backstretch for the first time and held off the furious charge of rookie Andy Eckrich to post his first feature win. Eckrich was able to slide underneath Gingrich several times but was unable to complete the pass, finishing second ahead of Matt Gilchrist, Dan Brockert and Norman Bean. Fulton overtook Bomber polesitter Todd Hansen at the halfway point of the 10 lap feature and went on to post the easy victory. Hansen held on to second ahead of Matt Bodman, Jeremy Thompson and Robert Barnes.

Racing action will continue at the West Liberty Raceway this Saturday night, April 21st. Hot laps are scheduled for 6:30 with the rained out Late Model feature to take the track at 7 pm, followed by the regular full night of racing. For more information contact Simmons Promotions on the web at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com or for race day updates call your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory category #3740.


Rained out, rescheduled for April 21st.


1. b3 Russ Olsen, Cedar Rapids
2. 16 Ryan Dolan, Lisbon
3. 19 Terry Lawson, New Liberty
4. 007 Brian Sexton, West Branch
5. 5d Bob Dominacki, Bettendorf
6. 2 Jim Vest, Wellman
7. 96 Larry Herring, Lone Tree
8. 64 Bret Frieden, Cedar Rapids
9. 9z Mike Zogg, New Liberty
10. 12 Terry Walker, Riverside
11. 60 Robbie Verbeeck, Annawan IL
12. 30 Gus Hughes, Monticello
13. 2h Rick Hixson, Orion IL
14. 71z Raymond Partida, West Liberty
15. 3 Jason Schueller, Dubuque
16. 22d Dave Boyd, Mechanicsville
17. 1 Dan Chapman, Clarence
18. 42 John Brumely, Muscatine
19. 9 Richard Steadman, Hiawatha
20. 44 Wade Lee, Davenport
21. 54 Doug Picray, Monticello
22. 34 David Hemsted, Lone Tree
23. 37 Todd Stoolman, West Branch
24. 20 John Fellman, Iowa City
25. 22 Darrall Brick, West Branch
26. d56 Mike Dains, Iowa City

DNQ 15 Allen May,
DNQ v8 Terry Murphy, Iowa City
DNQ 55 Scott Stecher, Muscatine
DNQ 7 Mike Thomas
DNQ 2b Brett Fosdyck
DNQ 18 Matt Ruess
DNQ 50b Robert Utter


1. 36 Jason Gingrich, West Liberty
2. 56 Andy Eckrich, Cosgrove
3. 1 Matt Gilchrist, Grandview
4. 30 Dan Brockert, Muscatine
5. 62 Norman Bean, Muscatine
6. 2r Rusty Daufeldt, Blue Grass
7. 69 John Maher, West Branch
8. 9z Dan Werner West Liberty
9. 7 Dale Franklin, Marion
10. 12 Jeff Tharp, Dubuque
11. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
12. 21 Brian VanDusen, Attalissa
13. 60 Matt Brockert, Muscatine
14. 17 Gary Beuter, Tipton
15. 29 Bruce Miller
16. 11 Troy Philpott, Muscatine
17. 25 Chad Simpson, Muscatine
18. 00 Jerome Gray, Muscatine
19. 25x Bobby Moyer, Dubuque
20. 71 Kevin Schroeder, Low Moor
21 99 Ricky West, Muscatine
22. 5 Dustin Davidson
23. 32 Chris Simpson Muscatine
24. 77 Darrin Plett, Davenport

DNS 24 Monte Hayden
DNS 79 Mike Dugan


1. d1 Matt Fulton, Blue Grass
2. 21 Todd Hansen, Muscatine
3. 0b Matt Bodman, Muscatine
4. 57j Jeremey Thompson, West Liberty
5. 97 Robert Barnes
6. 9 Dave Elliot, Muscatine
7. 99 C.J. Ormsby, West Liberty
8. 13 Larry Benn, Earlville
9. 40 James Rock, Muscatine
10. 1 Orlen Stark, Muscatine
11. 72 Doug Yates
12. 0 Stan O'Brien, Muscatine
13. 11 Chris Maurer, West Liberty

DNS 66 Jason Erwin, Muscatine
DNS 15 Jarrod Collins, West Liberty

Home ] Up ]

Copyright 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter