SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


West Liberty Raceway
July 14th 2001

Points leader Denny Eckrich scored his second straight NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature win at the West Liberty Raceway on Saturday July 14th, his fourth of the season on the midwestís toughest half mile.   

Escaping a big first lap wreck that eliminated several cars including Dana Wells and Kurt Stewart, Eckrich chased down polesitter Tom Cannon from his twelfth place spot in the original start by the tenth lap.  Cannon was able to fend off Eckrichís challenges until the sixteenth circuit.  After several laps of door-handle to door-handle racing, Eckrich finally secured the advantage after a drag race down the backstretch took away Cannonís preferred line into the third corner, forcing him to lift momentarily.  Eckrich took advantage to take the clear lead, but was unable to pull away until lapped traffic became a factor late in the race.  Cannon was well ahead of third place finisher Mike Klinkkammer at the checkers, with Fred Remely and Mark Ward posting their best finishes of the year by rounding out the top five.   

Darrall Brick used the cushion to post his fourth Miller Time Modified triumph of the season, advancing from seventh into the lead on the second lap by rocketing around Robbie Verbeck.  Bret Frieden also found the cushion early in the race, staying glued to Bricks rear bumper for the first half of the race before being forced to defend his position from points leader Scott Megonigle.  Locked in an intense battle for the second spot, Frieden was able to hold off Megonigle with Russ Olson and Dan Chapman rounding out the top five.   

Chad Simpson took home his first Pro Stock feature win after passing Andy Eckrich following a lap seven restart.  Brother Chris Simpson took the intial lead after a hard crash on the initial restart eliminated several racecars including points leader Matt Gilchrist, last weeks winner Darren Plett, Brian VanDusen and John Maher.  Eckrich provided heavy pressure for the point for several laps before taking the spot away on lap three and opening up a comfortable lead before action slowed on the seventh lap.  Chad Simpson took advantage to sneak around Eckrich on the top side of the racetrack when racing resumed, with Eckrich holding on to second at the checkers ahead of Chris Simpson, Jason Gingrich and Dale Franklin.   

Dave Elliot parlayed his Hobby Stock pole position into his second win of the season by leading every lap.  Matt Fulton snuck past Todd Hansen on the final lap to cross under the checkers a distant second, with Derrin Voss and Jason Erwin rounding out the top five after Matt Bodmanís car failed post-race inspection. 

West Liberty Raceway will take Saturday July 21st off for the Muscatine County Fair.  Points races will instead be held on Wednesday July 18th in all four divisions of NASCAR Weekly Racing Series stock cars.  For more information contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or online at www.simmonspromotionsinc.com.  For raceday updates and results after the races are over, call your local McLeod USA InTouch Directory category #3740 and #3741.

Late Models
1. 50  Denny Eckrich Coralville
2. 32  Tom Cannon  Iowa City
3. 45 Mike Klinkkammer West Branch 
4. 66   Fred Remely  Blue Grass
5. 8m Mark Ward  Muscatine
6. 57 Tom Christensen  West Liberty   
7. 2   Monte Ohrt  West Branch
8. 63  Rob Kirchner  Donnellson  
9. 77j Steve Johnson  Camanche 
10. 4  Bobby Sexton   West Branch
11. 74  Ron Boyse  Kalona 
12. 28  Jeff Bair   Solon
13. 31 Brian Morgan  Muscatine
14. 13k Denny Petersen Tipton
15. 18z  Rusty Zook   Riverside
16. 88 Kevin Kile  West Liberty
17. 7    Andy Nezworski Davenport 
18. c4  Lee Seydel  Iowa City
19. 26b  Wayne Brau  Annawan IL
20. ez33 Nick Marolf  Moscow
21. 30  Dan Brockert  Muscatine
22. m32 Marty Beckler Hills
23. 69  Todd Hormel   West Liberty
24. 17  Clayton Jensen Iowa City
25. 37  Rollie Frink   Davenport
26. 23d Dana Wells  Moscow
27. 33  Kurt Stewart  Ainsworth 

3t  Todd Davis  Iowa City
02  Robert Hillyer Wellman 
77  Jeff Aikey  Cedar Falls

1. 22  Darrall Brick  West Branch
2. 64 Bret Frieden  Cedar Rapids
3. m2 Scott Megonigle  Cedar Rapids
4. b3  Russ Olson   Cedar Rapids
5. 1   Dan Chapman  Clarence
6. 55 Scott Stecher  Muscatine
7. 96 Larry Herring  Lone Tree
8. 37 Todd Stoolman West Branch
9. 71z  Ramon Partida West Liberty
10. 60 Robbie Verbeck  Annawan IL 
11. 45 Steve Kohli   Iowa City
12. 42 John Brumely   Muscatine
13. 12 Terry Walker  Riverside
14. 44  Wade Lee  Muscatine
15. 19 Terry Lawson  New Liberty
16. 34  David Hemsted  Lone Tree
17. 18 Matt Ruess  West Liberty
18. 2   Jim Vest  Wellman
19. 25 Dustin Lovell  Rochester
20. 007  Brian Sexton Lone Tree
21. 54  Doug Picray  Monticello
22. 7  Mike Thomas  West Branch
23. 30  Gus Hughes  Monticello
24. 2h  Rick Hixson   Orion IL

9  Richard Steadman Hiawatha

1. 25 Chad Simpson  Marion
2. 56 Andy Eckrich  Cosgrove
3. 32 Chris Simpson  Marion
4. 36 Jason Gingrich West Liberty
5. 7 Dale Franklin  Marion
6. 60 Matt Brockert   Muscatine
7. 9z Dan Werner   Muscatine
8. 62 Norman Bean  Muscatine
9. 00  Jerome Gray  Muscatine
10. 2r  Rusty Daufeldt Blue Grass
11. 44  Tom Struve  Palo
12. 03 Don Hughes  Monticello 
13. 24  Monte Hayden Wilton 
14. 34  Ken Hansen  Vinton 
15. 29 Bruce Miller  West Liberty
16. s1  Steve Hunter  Hopkinton
17. 69 John Maher  West Branch
18. 21 Brian VanDusen Atalissa
19. 77 Darrin Plett  Davenport
20. 5  Larry McCall  Mechanicsville
21. 30x  Matt Gilchrist Grandview 

 30 Dan Brockert   Muscatine
 9m  Jody Metzger   Muscatine
 17 Gary Beuter  Tipton

1. 9  Dave Elliot  Muscatine
2. d1 Matt Fulton  Blue Grass
3. 21 Todd Hansen  Muscatine
4. 42v Darrin Voss  Wilton
5. 66  Jason Erwin  Muscatine
6. 57j  Jeremy Thompson Ainsworth
7. 0  Stan O'Brien  Muscatine
8. 11  Chris Maurer  West Liberty
9. 1  Orlen Stark  West Liberty  
10. 94  Jason Lange  Muscatine
11. 99  CJ Ormsby  West Liberty
12. 72 Doug Yates  Monticello
13. 15 Jarrod Collins  West Liberty  
14. 29 Dave Wada  Muscatine
15. 97 Robert Barnes  Letts
16. 40  James Rock  Muscatine

0b Matt Bodman  Muscatine

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter