SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


West Liberty Raceway
June 23, 2001

Putting the final mark on a theme that seemed to be prevalent throughout the evening, Ray Guss Jr overcame a recent run of bad luck to capture the NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model feature at the West Liberty Raceway on Saturday June 23rd.

Starting the 25-lap feature event from the pole position due to a recent streak of mechanical failures and misfortune, Guss led every lap on his way to his first victory of the season at the ultra-competitive racetrack. Two early caution periods kept Guss away from lapped traffic until the fifteenth circuit, after which he had built up a 15-car length lead over Rick Wendling. Wendling kept the pressure on by constantly searching for the fastest line, settling in the middle and bottom of the racetrack while Guss continued to flat foot around the top of the track. Closing in late, Wendling gave Guss his only challenge with two laps to go by pulling underneath the leader as the cars negotiated the first corner. With lapped traffic in the way, Wendling backed off, repeating the maneuver each of the final five corners of the race to no avail. Gary Webb finished a distant third after starting eighteenth advancing through the pack under green flag conditions as the final 22 laps of the race were spent without a caution flag to bunch the field. Points leader Denny Eckrich turned in another solid run to capture the fourth position ahead of Kevin Kile.

Rick Hixson also overcame recent misfortune to capture the Miller Time Modified top honors. Recent bad luck has kept Hixson out of the top twenty on three of his last four races at West Liberty. Taking the lead at the drop of the green, Hixson was never seriously challenged, although two restarts kept Scott Megonigle and Dan Chapman close. Megonigle overtook Chapman for second following a late race restart with Gus Hughes and Darrell Brick rounding out the top five.

Pro Stocks started the evening’s theme with Jody Metzger breaking out of a recent spate of accidents to capture his first victory of the season. Metzger inherited the lead after one lap was complete when pole sitter Bruce Miller retired to the pits. Metzger kept his foot to the floor as Andy Eckrich and Norman Bean battled for the second spot. Eckrich was able to break free on several occasions to pressure Metzger, but a restart with two laps to go hampered his efforts by allowing Bean to pull alongside for the restart. Eckrich was able to shake Bean on the final lap but came up short on a final corner dive for the lead. Rusty Daufeldt and Darrin Plett rounded out the top five. CJ Ormsby pulled off his first Hobby Stock win of the season after parlaying his pole position into an easy win over Matt Fulton, Jeremy Thompson, Stan O’Brien and Derrin Voss.

Racing action will continue at the West Liberty Raceway located on the Muscatine Co Fairgrounds this Saturday, June 29th. Four divisions of NASCAR Stock Cars will once again do battle on the flat half-mile, hot laps scheduled for 6:30 with racing to follow. For more information, please contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or on the internet at www.SimmonsPromotionsInc.com. For raceday updates and instant results upon completion please call your local McLeod USA InTouch directory category #3740 or #3741.

Late Models
1. 12 Ray Guss Jr Milan IL
2. 78 Rick Wendling Hazelton
3. 56 Gary Webb Blue Grass
4. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
5. 88 Kevin Kile West Liberty
6. 3t Todd Davis Iowa City
7. 3x Skip Frey Ely
8. 31 Brian Morgan Muscatine
9. 8m Mark Ward Muscatine
10. 77 Kurt Kile West Liberty
11. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville
12. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
13. 13k Denny Petersen Tipton
14. 4 Bobby Sexton West Branch
15. 45 Mike Klinkkammer West Branch
16. 26b Wayne Brau Annawan IL
17. 66 Fred Remely Blue Grass
18. 18z Rusty Zook Riverside
19. 28 Jeff Bair Solon
20. 57 Tom Christensen West Liberty
21. 30 Dan Brockert Muscatine
22. 51 Matt Furman Iowa City
23. 2 Monte Ohrt West Branch
24. 7 Andy Nezworski Davenport
25. c4 Lee Seydel Iowa City
26. 74 Ron Boyse Kalona
27. ez33 Nick Marolf Moscow
28. 8 Chuck Mayerhofer Dixon IL

23d Dana Wells Moscow
32 Tom Cannon Iowa City
25 Mike Beuter Tipton
1m Rob Moss Iowa City
69 Todd Hormel West Liberty
h20 Paul Watters Waterloo
17 Clayton Jensen Iowa City
m32 Marty Beckler Hills
02 Robert Hillyer Wellman
33 Kurt Stewart Ainsworth

1. 2h Rick Hixson Orion IL
2. m2 Scott Megonigle Cedar Rapids
3. 1 Dan Chapman Clarence
4. 30 Gus Hughes Monticello
5. 22 Darrall Brick West Branch
6. 64 Bret Frieden Cedar Rapids
7. b3 Russ Olson Cedar Rapids
8. 96 Larry Herring Lone Tree
9. 12 Terry Walker Riverside
10. 2 Jim Vest Wellman
11. 60 Robbie Verbeck Annawan IL
12. 19 Terry Lawson New Liberty
13. 37 Todd Stoolman West Branch
14. 55 Scott Stecher Muscatine
15. 72 Rich Lewis Kewaupee IL
16. 71z Ramon Partida West Liberty
17. 42 John Brumely Muscatine
18. 9 Richard Steadman Hiawatha
19. 34 David Hemsted Lone Tree
20. 7 Mike Thomas West Branch
21. 25 Dustin Lovell Rochester
22. 56 Bob Fier Iowa City
23. 15 Allen May Elmwood IL
24. 20 John Fellman Blue Grass
25. 17 Shane Stewart Washington
26. 50b Robert Utter Columbus Junction

18 Matt Ruess West Liberty
45 Steve Kohli Iowa City
11 Mike Burbridge Delhi
44 Wade Lee Muscatine
f7 Patrick Flannagan Cedar Rapids
45 Steve Kohli Iowa City

1. 9m Jody Metzger Muscatine
2. 56 Andy Eckrich Cosgrove
3. 62 Norman Bean Muscatine
4. 2r Rusty Daufeldt Blue Grass
5. 77 Darrin Plett Davenport
6. 1 Matt Gilchrist Grandview
7. 69 John Maher West Branch
8. 17 Gary Beuter Tipton
9. 25 Chad Simpson Marion
10. 36 Jason Gingrich West Liberty
11. 32 Chris Simpson Marion
12. 21 Brian VanDusen Atalissa
13. 7 Dale Franklin Marion
14. 34 Kevin Hansen Vinton
15. 60 Matt Brockert Muscatine
16. 33 Randy Franzen Marion
17. 5 Larry McCall Mechanicsville
18. 00 Jerome Gray Muscatine
19. 42 Larry Pearson West Liberty
20. 24 Monte Hayden Wilton
21. 9z Dan Werner Muscatine
22. 11 Troy Philpott Muscatine
23. 29 Bruce Miller West Liberty
24. 43 Todd Cantrell West Liberty

30 Dan Brockert Muscatine

1. 99 CJ Ormsby West Liberty
2. d1 Matt Fulton Blue Grass
3. 57j Jeremy Thompson Ainsworth
4. 0 Stan O'Brien Muscatine
5. 42v Darrin Voss Wilton
6. 66 Jason Erwin Muscatine
7. 21 Todd Hansen Muscatine
8. 97 Robert Barnes Letts
9. 100 David Schrier Muscatine
10. 0b Matt Bodman Muscatine
11. 9 Dave Elliot Muscatine
12. 15 Jarrod Collins West Liberty
13. 1 Orlen Stark West Liberty

29 Dave Wada Muscatine
2b Bill Butteris Lisbon
51 Ron Doolittle Davenport
00 Michael Dominguez West Liberty

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter