SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.


West Liberty Raceway
June 2, 2001

A weeks delay in NASCAR Winston Racing Series action and an extremely tacky racetrack combined to put Kurt Stewart in victory lane during NASCAR Weekly Racing Series Late Model action at the West Liberty Raceway on Saturday June 2nd, making him the seventh different victor in seven events held in 2001.

Bobby Sexton took the early lead, surviving several early cautions while Stewart worked the double file restarts to advance from the tenth starting position to challenge for the lead by the end of the third green flag lap. Skip Frey followed Stewarts charge to the front after starting eighth, and began challenging Sexton for the runner up spot by lap six. Contact between the two cars one lap later sent Sexton into the backstretch wall, ending his evening. The ensuing restart saw pointís leader Denny Eckrich line up alongside Frey, where he quickly capitalized by taking the position and challenging for the lead. Stewart kept his foot to the floor by riding the cushion while Eckrich tried to find an advantage in the middle of the racetrack. Unable to complete a pass after four laps of looking underneath, Eckrich settled in several car lengths the leader for the remainder of the race. The final caution flag on lap seventeen did little to change the running order at the front, but did allow last weekís winner Mike Klinkkammer to catch and pass Frey for the third place at the checkers. Frey held on to the fourth spot ahead of Jeff Bair.

Gus Hughes finally picked up his first Modified feature win of the season after several weeks of heartbreak. Rick Hixson took the early lead while Hughes advanced five places from his seventh place start when caution slowed the action for the first time on lap four. Hughes was able to stay on Hixsonís rear bumper for the next seven laps, when the leader slipped high in the second corner. Hughes set sail on the cushion, as Hixson slipped back through the pack, eventually retiring three laps later with a flat right rear tire. The lap fourteen restart provided plenty of drama when contact in the second corner forced several drivers to check up, scrambling the field as drivers swerved to avoid a major pileup. The race stayed green as all cars kept moving, allowing Hughes open up a comfortable lead ahead of Robbie Verbeck. Three-time winner Darrall Brick crossed under the checkers third ahead of Scott Megonigle and Terry Walker.

Jason Gingrich denied Chris Simpsonís first Pro Stock victory of the season with a last lap pass. Simpson jumped out the early lead and appeared to be cruising to an easy victory until late in the race when Gingrich stumbled onto a faster line while running second. Gingrich erased Simpsonís 15 car length advantage and eventually took the lead with the checkered flag waving as the pair exited the fourth corner. Dale Franklin crossed the line third ahead of Andy Eckrich and Matt Gilchrist.

Jeremy Thompson padded his Hobby Stock points lead with his second victory of the season. Thompson took the lead at the end of the first lap after starting eighth. Unchallenged for the remaining nine laps, Thompson crossed the stripe ahead of Dave Wada, Bill Butteris. Dave Elliot and Derrin Voss.

More than 120 NASCAR Winston Racing Series racecars will again do battle on the flat half-mile this Saturday night, June 9th. Hot Laps are scheduled for 6:30 pm with racing to follow. For more information, please contact Simmons Promotions at 563-744-3620 or on the internet at www.SimmonsPromotionsInc.com. For raceday updates and instant results upon completion please call your local McLeod USA InTouch directory category #3740 or #3741.

Late Models
1. 33 Kurt Stewart Ainsworth
2. 50 Denny Eckrich Coralville
3. 45 Mike Klinkkammer West Branch
4. 3x Skip Frey Ely
5. 28 Jeff Bair Solon
6. 33g Dan Galant Clinton
7. 51 Matt Furman Iowa City
8. 88 Kevin Kile West Liberty
9. 18z Rusty Zook Riverside
10. 74 Ron Boyse Kalona
11. 32d Darren Miller Chadwick IL
12. 3t Todd Davis Iowa City
13. 26b Wayne Brau Annawan IL
14. 57 Tom Christensen West Liberty
15. 66 Fred Remely Blue Grass
16. 8m Mark Ward Muscatine
17. 23d Dana Wells Moscow
18. c4 Lee Seydel Iowa City
19. 77j Steve Johnson Camanche
20. 8 Chuck Mayerhofer Dixon IL
21. 6 Jay Chenoweth Wapello
22. 7 Andy Nezworski Davenport
23. 2 Monte Ohrt West Branch
24. 4 Bobby Sexton West Branch
25. 58 Dave Eckrich Coralville
26. 78 Rick Wendling Hazelton
27. 32c Chad Holliday Wilton
28. 37b Troy Bruder Rock Falls IL

32 Tom Cannon Iowa City
ez33 Nick Marolf Moscow
m32 Marty Beckler Hills
13k Denny Petersen Tipton
21h Brian Harris Davenport
31 Brian Morgan Muscatine
87 Clint Hines Taylor Ridge IL
69 Todd Hormel West Liberty
77 Kurt Kile West Liberty
11 Ace Ihm Hazel Green WI
02 Jim Vest Wellman
17 Clayton Jensen Iowa City
30 Dan Brockert Muscatine
12 Ray Guss Jr. Milan IL

1. 30 Gus Hughes Monticello
2. 60 Robbie Verbeck Annawan IL
3. 22 Darrall Brick West Branch
4. m2 Scott Megonigle Cedar Rapids
5. 12 Terry Walker Riverside
6. 96 Larry Herring Lone Tree
7. 1 Dan Chapman Clarence
8. 19 Terry Lawson New Liberty
9. 20 John Fellman Blue Grass
10. 45 Steve Kohli Iowa City
11. 9 Richard Steadman Hiawatha
12. 007 Brian Sexton Lone Tree
13. 37 Todd Stoolman West Branch
14. 55 Scott Stecher Muscatine
15. 15 Allen May Elmwood IL
16. 42 John Brumely Muscatine
17. 22d Dave Boyd Mechanicsville
18. 34 David Hemsted Lone Tree
19. 71z Ramon Partida West Liberty
20. 72 Rich Lewis Kewaupee IL
21. 18 Matt Ruess West Liberty
22. 50b Robert Utter Columbus Junction
23. b3 Russ Olson Cedar Rapids
24. 2h Rick Hixson Orion IL
25. 9z Mike Zogg New Liberty
26. 64 Bret Frieden Cedar Rapids

7 Mike Thomas
2 Jim Vest Wellman
54 Doug Picray Monticello
25 Dustin Lovell Rochester
17 Shane Stewart
57 Dennis Betzer

1. 36 Jason Gingrich West Liberty
2. 32 Chris Simpson Muscatine
3. 7 Dale Franklin Marion
4. 56 Andy Eckrich Cosgrove
5. 1 Matt Gilchrist Grandview
6. 16 Dan Shelliam Hazel Green WI
7. 2r Rusty Daufeldt Blue Grass
8. 25 Chad Simpson Muscatine
9. 17 Gary Beuter Tipton
10. 21 Brian VanDusen Atalissa
11. 69 John Maher West Branch
12. 60 Matt Brockert Muscatine
13. 00 Jerome Gray Muscatine
14. 5 Larry McCall Mechanicsville
15. 34 Kevin Hanson
16. 62 Norman Bean Muscatine
17. 11 Troy Philpott Muscatine
18. 43 Todd Cantrell Muscatine
19. 24 Monte Hayden Wilton
20. 77 Darrin Plett Davenport
21. 9m Jody Metzger Muscatine

29 Bruce Miller West Liberty
9z Dan Werner Muscatine
33 Randy Franzen Marion

1. 57j Jeremy Thompson Ainsworth
2. 29 Dave Wada Muscatine
3. 2b Bill Butteris
4. 9 Dave Elliot Muscatine
5. 42v Darrin Voss Wilton
6. 0 Stan O'Brien Muscatine
7. 66 Jason Erwin Muscatine
8. 97 Robert Barnes
9. 13 Larry Benn Dyersville
10. 15 Jarrod Collins West Liberty
11. 21 Todd Hansen Muscatine
12. 72 Doug Yates Monticello
13. 51 Ron Doolittle
14. 1 Orlen Stark West Liberty
15. 11 Chris Mauer West Liberty
16. 99 CJ Ormsby West Liberty
17. d1 Matt Fulton Blue Grass
18. 0b Matt Bodman Muscatine
40 James Rock Muscatine



Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: September 10, 2004

Hit Counter