SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

Bloomquist Best In Farley Speedway UMP Late Models



Farley, Iowa: The UMP Late Model Summernationals rolled into the Farley Speedway on Tuesday, July 15th with perfect weather greeting a large crowd and 38 super Late Models taking part in the $10,000 to win racing program. The Late Model field included the best of the best in the world of dirt track racing.


The night started out with Jeep VanWormer of Penn Co, Michigan topping the field in qualifying, Van Wormer was the only driver to time in the 18 second bracket with a time of 18.96. The top six in time and three provisional drivers took part in the 9 car fast dash to set the first three rows of the feature and the pole positions for the heats. The dash saw Elk Mound, Wisconsin driver Jimmy Mars take the win over Scott Bloomquist from Tennessee and Brian Birkhofer from Muscatine, Iowa.


 The 40 lap Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation feature event took the green with the 28 of Mars and the 0 of Bloomquist sharing the front row. Bloomquist took the lead early and set sail up on the high line of the track. Early exits were from the feature included superstars, Wendell Wallace, Steve Boley, Brian Birkhofer and Shannon Babb. The race saw several drivers use the low line to make early race moves. As the race went on the preferred line went high making for an extremely fast race. Bloomquist was able to move through lapped traffic making for a comfortable lead margin over the pack of cars battling for second. Jimmy Mars had his hands full in holding off the constant challenges of Billy Moyer Jr. Moyer was able to get inside of Mars on several occasions but was unable to make the pass for second. Mars took second to Bloomquist with Moyer finishing a very close third. Steve Francis drove Larry Moring’s car to a very impressive 4th place finish. Francis was one of the big movers of the race coming from 14th to finish 4th. Don O’Neal “the Real Deal” rounded the top five. 26 of the 38 cars signed in took the initial green flag in the 40 lap main event. Heat wins went to O’Neal, Johnny Johnson and Jeff Aikey. The consolation event was won by Pete Parker.


The Pro Stocks were the companion division on Tuesday night. The 20 lap feature was very entertaining with the lead being swapped several times. Jeff Kennedy took the lead from early leader Gary Crawford and went on to lead the next six laps before Crawford was able to regain the lead. Chad Simpson battled with the leaders and was actually scored as the leader briefly. Crawford was able to reestablish the lead on lap 11 and go on to win the 20 lap main event. Chad Simpson crossed under the checkers in second ahead of Ty Kleiner and Kennedy who was late DQ’d for not allowing post race inspection. The DQ moved Chris Simpson into fourth.


The next scheduled event at the Farley Speedway will be the return of the NASCAR Dodge Weekly Series on Friday, July 25th with warm ups scheduled for 7 p.m.     



Farley Speedway UMP Late Model Summernationals 7/15/03


Pro Stocks


Heat 1

  1. 32 Chris Simpson-Marion

  2. 25X Chad Simpson-Marion

  3. 97 Jeff Reinert-Dyersville


Heat 2

  1. 2k Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque

  2. 1 Dave Fieber-Platteville, WI

  3. 38 Gary Crawford-Independence



1.      38 Crawford

2.      25X Simpson

3.      20 Ty Kleiner-Potosi, WI

4.      32 Simpson

5.      0 Matt Bodman-Muscatine

6.      25 Bob Moyer-Dubuque

7.      22X Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL

8.      5M Larry McCall-Mechanicsville

9.      5 Dane Steiner-Dubuque

10.  61 Scott Riechers-Belmont, WI

11.  35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque

12.  5W Scott Welsh-Cedar Rapids

13.  97 Reinert

14.  14 Levi Benn-Dyersville

15.  13 Mike Weidemann-Dubuque

16.  22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque



Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation Late Models

UMP Late Models Summernationals

Heat 1

  1. 71 Don O’Neal-Martinsville, IN

  2. 21h Brian Harris-Davenport

  3. 26 Steve Boley-West Liberty


Heat 2

  1. 99 Johnny Johnson-West Burlington

  2. 9 Billy Drake-Bloomington, IL

  3. 15 Steve Francis-Ashland, KY


Heat 3

  1. 77 Jeff Aikey-Cedar Falls

  2. 18 Shannon Babb-Decatur, IL

  3. 56 Gary Webb-Blue Grass, IA



  1. 10 Pete Parker-Kaukauna, WI

  2. 32 Bob Pierce-Oakwood, IL

  3. 5 Jay Johnson-West Burlington


 Fast Dash

  1. 28 Jimmy Mars-Elk Mound, WI

  2. 0 Scott Bloomquist-Mooresburg, TN

  3. 15b Brian Birkhofer-Muscatine, IA


Iowa Illinois Taylor Insulation 40 lap Feature


  1. 0 Bloomquist

  2. 28 Mars

  3. 21 Billy Moyer Jr.-Batesville, AR

  4. 15 Francis

  5. 71 O’Neal

  6. 32D Darren Miller-Chadwick, IL

  7. 9 Drake

  8. 56 Webb

  9. 96 Terry English-Benton, KY

  10. 45 Curt Martin-Independence, IA

  11. 77 Aikey

  12. 99 Johnny Johnson

  13. 5  Jay Johnson

  14. 1g Rob Toland-Hillsdale, IL

  15. 10 Parker

  16. 3 Josh McGowan-Vinton

  17. 55 Jeep VanWormer-Penn Co, MI

  18. 21H Harris

  19. 50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin

  20. 32 Pierce

  21. 12 Ray Guss Jr.-Milan, IL

  22. B12 Kevin Weaver-Gibson City, IL

  23. 15b Birkhofer

  24. 18 Babb

  25. 26 Boley

  26. Wendell Wallace-Batesville, AR

Farley Speedway

Farley, Iowa


By: Jerry Mackey

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter