SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

Dollansky Writes New Chapter in Record Book at Dubuque

Dubuque, IA (5-16-04): The record books were wide open at the Dubuque Fairgrounds when the Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series hit the 37 year old facility. Although the IRA had scheduled races at the venue in past year, weather problems had always plagued the event so Sunday night’s show marked the first ever visit by a sprint car series to the track.

Terry McCarl timed in the second half of cars and established a track record at 12.865 seconds, besting Jason Johnson by .031 seconds. The time trial session was marred by the night’s hardest crash when Brent Laursen’s car broke while at full throttle on the backstretch, sending him into a bone-jarring crash which ended in the infield area. Laursen was transported to a locale medical facility where he was treated for a fracture in his hand. Heat race winners included Joe Roe, Jason Johnson, Mike Kertscher and Craig Dollansky. Scott Uttech and Travis Whitney split the twin B-Mains.

The start of the feature was halted on 4 occasions as the strong field of cars displayed some difficulty in squeezing the entire field into the high banked turn one and two area all at once. The first attempt resulted in a red flag when Roger Rager, Joe Roe and John Haeni all got together, putting Rager on his wing. The incident also involved McCarl, who was able to restart from the rear. On the 5th attempt, the field began settling themselves into some serious racing. John Sernett took advantage of his pole start to lead early. Jason Johnson would get by Sernett but, a charging Dollansky however, would prove too much for Johnson, who finally surrendered the lead for good to Dollansky at about the half-way point. A late race caution with three laps to go allowed McCarl to stay within striking distance, however, McCarl could only rebound to a second place finish, getting by Travis Whitney and Jason Johnson between the 3rd turn and the finish line on the final lap. “We needed this after last night,” Dollansky stated in victory lane. “We broke a rear end last night which hurt us and we needed to build up some momentum before next week’s show in Princeton (MN). This track (Dubuque) is a lot like Princeton so we wanted to come and use this as a god tune up before the two day show up home.”

The SPI B-Modified ran as the support class in conjunction with the IRA Sprint Cars on Sunday night. The 12 lap feature was run flag to flag caution free and saw Mark Massey take the win following a spin by the leader, Jacob Seegmiller as he set his car to dash to the checkers in turn four of the checkered flag lap. Jason Schuller drove the 68 car to a second place finish ahead of Jeremy English.

Racing will continue at the Dubuque County Fairgrounds Speedway on Sunday, May 23rd with the first annual running of the Denny Ansel Memorial race. The night will honor long time racer Denny Ansel who passed away a year ago following a courageous battle with cancer. The night will be a fund raiser for the "Make A Wish Foundation".

All-American Caps & Accessories/TW Metals Time Trials(38 cars): Terry McCarl (Big Game Tree Stands #24) 12.865 seconds
WELD Racing Heat: Joe Roe (Roe Automotive/FATTFRO Motorsports #61)
MPD Race Products Heat: Jason Johnson (Cox Design & Fabrication #50D)
Lane Automotive Heat: Mike Kertscher (Osborn & Son Trucking #80K)
VMAC Racing Heat: Craig Dollansky (VMAC/Karavan #7)
Behling’s Circle Track Products B-Mains:
#1 – Scott Uttech (SWS Machine & Tool #7)
#2 - Travis Whitney (Powder Coating Technologies #9)

A-Main: Craig Dollansky (VMAC/Karavan #7-$2000), Terry McCarl (#24), Jason Johnson (#50D), Travis Whitney (#9), Scott Beirtzer (#4B), Scott Neitzel (#2W), Scott Uttech (#7), Jesse Giannetto (#D1), John Haeni (#21J), Jason Johnson (#44), Kim Mock (#1M), Bill Warren (#95), Kurt Davis (#6K), Scott Young (#22), Ryan Jamison (#51J), Bill Waite JR (#3JR), Mike Kertscher (#80K), John Sernett (#91), Clint Garner (#40), Lynton Jeffrey (#10), Joe Roe (#61), Roger Rager (#6R)

1. 30 Mark Massey-Worthington
2. 68 Jason Schueller-Dubuque
3. 0 Jeremy English-Bernard
4. 12t Tim Current-Maquoketa
5. 81 K.C. Ansel-Dubuque
6. 6 Jed Frieberger-Dubuque
7. 71 Bruce VanGordon-Dubuque
8. 34 Jay Garvey-Grand Mound
9. 33 Jarrett Franzen-Maquoketa
10. 7J Jacob Seegmiller-Dubuque
11. 01 Damien Miller-Dubuque

Home ] Up ]

Copyright © 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 13, 2004

Hit Counter