SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[News & Updates]
[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

O誰eal Stomps Stellar Field On His Way to 10th Summernational Victory At Farley Speedway



Farley, Iowa:  The UMP Summernationals Late Model Tour rolled into the Farley Speedway on Tuesday, July 13th bringing many of the nations top Late Model drivers.  When the checkered flag flew following a very quickly run 40 lap feature it was Martinsville, Indiana driver,  Don (The real Deal) O誰eal taking the win and the $10,000 paycheck. O誰eal finished second in the fast dash to Billy Moyer Jr. earning him an outside front row starting position for the main event. O誰eal took the lead at the dropping of the green and went on to record an impressive win. Teammates Billy Moyer Jr. and Shannon Babb spent the majority of the race battling for second place. The two traded paint on more than one occasion before Moyer was able to secure the runner up spot as the laps wound down. Rick Eckert from York, PA was able to hold off several late race challenges by Jimmy Mars to garner the fourth position. Steve Francis drove the Larry Moring owned car to a fifth place finish.  O誰eal痴 win was his 10th victory in 18 starts on the 2004 UMP Summernationals Tour.


 The night started off with Denny Eckrich setting the fast time of 19.30 seconds topping the 30 car field. Heat winners were Francis, Rodney Melvin and Brian Birkhofer. Moyer topped the fast dash and the consolation was won by Ray Guss Jr.


24 drivers took the green for the 40 lap feature on Tuesday night.


 The Pro Stocks ran in support of the UMP Late Models on Tuesday night. Farley Speedway regular Jimy Brokus took the 15 lap feature win after a hotly contested battle with Jeff Kennedy. The two raced the majority of the race wheel to wheel before Brokus finally broke away to score a 2 car length win.  Jeff Valentine crossed under the checkers in third ahead of Bob Bollon.


 NASCAR Racing will return to action at the Farley Speedway on Friday, July 16th with hot laps at 7 p.m.      


Farley Speedway UMP Late Model Summernationals

Race Results 7/13/2004


UMP Late Models


Fast Time   50 Denny Eckrich-Tiffin, IA   19.30


Heat 1

  1. 15 Steve Francis-Ashland, KY

  2. 45 Curt Martin-Independence, IA

  3. 7 Matt Miller-Waterville, OH


Heat 2

  1. Rodney Melvin-Logan, IL

  2. 96 Terry English-Benton, KY

  3. 17M Luke Merfeld-Peosta, IA


Heat 3

  1. 15B Brian Birkhofer-Muscatine, IA

  2. 1 Earl Pearson Jr.-Jacksonville, FL

  3. 58 Dave Eckrich-Oxford, IA


Fast Dash

  1. Billy Moyer Jr.-Batesville, AR

  2. 71 Don O誰eal-Martinsville, IN

  3. 18 Shannon Babb-Decatur, IN



  1. 75 Ray Guss Jr.-Milan, IL

  2. 12 Jeff Tharp-Dubuque, IA

  3. 12X Steve (Ace) Ihm-Kieler, WI


40 Lap Summernational Feature

1. 71 O誰eal- $10,000

2. 21 Moyer JR

3. 18 Babb

4. 24 Rick Eckert-York, PA

5. 28M Jimmy Mars-Elk Mound, WI

6. 15 Francis

7. 96 English

8. 75 Guss Jr.

9. 58 Eckrich

10. 45 Martin

11. 3T Todd Davis-Iowa City, IA

12. 12 Tharp

13. 28 Dennis Erb Jr.-Carpentersville, IL

14. 27 Melvin

15. 50 Denny Eckrich

16. 17M Merfeld

17. 15B Birkhofer

18. 7 Miller

19. 32D Darren Miller-Chadwick, IL

20. 26 Steve Boley-West Liberty, IA

21. A1 Duke Whiseant-Texarkana, AR

22. 5 Jay Johnson-West Burlington, IA

23. 1 Pearson JR

24. 00 Randy Korte-Highland, IL



Pro Stocks

Heat 1

  1. 14 Levi Benn-Dyersville

  2. 2K Jeff Kennedy-Dubuque

  3. 22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque


Heat 2

1.      25 Bob Moyer-Dubuque

2.      35 Jim Brokus-Dubuque

3.      23 Keith Kiernan-Dubuque


Fast Dash

  1. 25 Moyer

  2. 35 Brokus

  3. 22 Valentine



1.      35 Brokus

2.      25 Moyer

3.      22 Valentine

4.      22b Bob Bollon-Freeport, IL

5.      59 Mike Hughes-Galena, IL

6.      5m Larry McCall-Mechanicsville

7.      43G Tom Garner-East Dubuque

8.      99 Ken Martelle-LaMotte

9.      14 Benn

10.  64 Mike Raisback-Boscobel-WI

11.  61 Scott Reichers-Belmont, WI

12.  23 Kiernan

13.  21 Jason Robbins-Benton, WI

Home ] Up ]

Copyright ゥ 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: October 27, 2004

Hit Counter