SPI Logo

[Home] [Up]

[Speedshots of The Week]
[Late Model Shootouts]
[Palace Ballroom]
[Farley Speedway]
[Dubuque Speedway]
[Davenport Speedway]
[2004 Class Rules]
[Auction & Trade Shows]
[Old Archived Information]
[Site Map]
[Search SPI Web Site]

2002 SPI Track Location Map Logo

Suzuki 4 wheeler that Wilwert's has provided SPI for race track and  tee shirt shoot each night. The Suzuki Fun Gun provided by Wilwert's Inc.

Roe Takes Low Line To Grant County Raceway Win



Lancaster, WI  (Sept 4, 2004):  With 36 sprinters in the pit area at the Grant County Speedway, Labor Day weekend was going to be a labor of love for teams to try and find their way to victory lane. 


  Scott Neitzel set the tone for the night by establishing the mark to beat early in time trials with a tour of the 3/8 oval in 13.872 seconds.  The extremely competitive heats were won by Brook Tatnell, Travis Whitney, Dave Uttech and Scott Biertzer.  The Twin B-Mains were split by Jason Johnson and Scott Young. 


  By feature time, the track surface had widened out enough to allow three and four wide racing and drivers were using anything they could find to gain an advantage on whomever was in front of them.  Joe Roe jumped off to an early advantage over Jason Solwold and Travis Whitney with Roe and Solwold battling for the lead for the entire 30 lap race with Roe committed to the bottom and Solwold using a combination of high in turns one and two and low on three and four.  Whitney would fade later having suffered damage to his front suspension.  Many times, Solwold would pull even with Roe only to watch Roe out-power him down the stretch.  Behind these two, Steve Meyer and Brook Tatnell were also on the move.  Meyer, who was seemingly on a mission to recover from his heat race misgivings was on a tear during the early part of the race, had moved by Tatnell and up to third by the halfway point when the caution flag flew for the second time for John Haeni who had slid into the 1st turn wall making slight contact but able to return to competition.  Tatnell would get by Meyer on the restart but was not able to get by Solwold.  Meanwhile, Bill Warren was staging a rally of his own, moving through traffic to finish 6th from his 17th starting spot.  Roe would hold Solwold off for a green, white checker finish with Tatnell in tow at the finish.




TW Metals/All American Caps & Accessories Time Trials: 


  Scott Neitzel  (R&H Enterprises #2W)

WELD Racing Heat:  Brook Tatnell (Wirtgen #5)

MPD Race Products Heat:  Travis Whitney  (Whitney Racing #9)

Lane Automotive Heat:  Dave Uttech  (Firehouse Performance #68)

VMAC Racing Heat:  Scott Biertzer  (WG Stohwig Tool & Die #4B)

Behling Race Products B-Mains: 

  Jason Johnson (Johnson Bros Racing #44) – Scott Young  (BRAL Restoration #22)

United Trailers/J&L Oil A-Main (30 laps):  Joe Roe (FATTFRO Motorsports/Roe Automotive #61), Jason Solwold, Brook Tatnell, Mike Kertscher, Steve Meyer, Billy Warren, Scott Neitzel, John Sernett, Travis Whitney, Kurt Davis, Brian Kristan, Calvin Landis, Jeff Mitrisin, Scott Biertzer, Dave Enders, Ty Bartz, Dave Enders, Dave Uttech, Ricky Logan, Matt Wasmund, Jason Johnson, Scott Young

DMI Hard Charger:  Billy Warren (Bob Warren Automotive #95 / +11)


 In addition to the IRA Sprint Cars the fans at the Grant County Raceway were also treated to the racing action of the regular support divisions on Saturday night.


 The Modified feature saw Ron Barker battle with Scott Nesteby for 9 laps before Barker was able to get out front and go on to record the 20 lap feature win. Barker scored the victory ahead of Nesteby, Sean Rupp and Dave McClain.


 Jason Udelhofen scored a very popular win in the Pro Stock 15 lap feature. Udelhofen took over the top spot on lap number 5 moving by Bruce Schmitz and went on to get to the checkers first ahead of Jeff Valentine and Jim Hendrick.


 Jason Rauen made his first appearance of the season at the Grant County Raceway and picked up the 10 lap Hobby Stock feature win. Rauen took the win over Jarvis Eastlick and Rick Runde.


 Another very popular win was scored by Ryan Federman as he took the 10 lap Limited Stock feature win. Federman took the win ahead of Ricky Bohland and Roger Winkers.


 Local driver Mike Nihles took the Farley Flyer (4 Cylinder) class win. Nihles was able to hold off Becky Roth for the hard fought win. Rueben Riley crossed under the checkers in third.


 Travis Johnson scored the win in the Outlaw 4 cylinder class, taking the win ahead of Steve Walker.


 Saturday nights racing program was the fifth under the direction of SPI and will bring the curtain down on the 2004 season. An announcement will be made soon regarding the status of racing at the Grant County Raceway for the 2005 season.


Saturday, September 4th

Grant County Raceway Feature results



  1. 37B Ron Barker-Dubuque

  2. 74 Scott Nesteby-Asbury

  3. 15 Sean Rupp-Dubuque

  4. 86 Dave McClain-Potosi

  5. D12 Andy Dinges-Monroe, WI

  6. 99.3 Eric Glendenning-Darlington

  7. 27 Buddy Weber-Rockford, IL

  8. 11x Scott Schanke-Dodgeville, WI

  9. 14W Jason Walrack-Mineral Point, WI

  10. 19 Pete Bonin-Belmont, WI


Pro Stocks      

  1. 23U Jason Udelhofen-Potosi

  2. 22 Jeff Valentine-Dubuque

  3. 68 Jim Hendrick-Muscoday, WI

  4. 12 Jeremy Gengler-Lancaster, WI

  5. 14 Levi Benn-Dyersville, IA

  6. 3 Jim Bauer-Patch Grove, WI

  7. 40 Mark Stoney-Bloomington, WI

  8. 21 Jason Robbins-Benton, WI

  9. 37 Bruce Schmitz-Mineral Point, WI

  10. 91 Rich Picha-Prairie Du Chein, WI


Hobby Stocks

  1. 98 Jason Rauen-Farley, IA

  2. 20 Jarvis Eastlick-Platteville, WI

  3. 80 Rick Runde-Platteville, WI

  4. 89 Kelly Welter-St. Donatus, WI

  5. 14 D.J. Burris-Darlington, WI

  6. 3 Jason Gilbertson-Hollandale, WI

  7. 98 Brandon Harris-Muscoday, WI

  8. 38B Jerrett Gerber-Platteville, WI

  9. 11P Tom Pluemer-Potosi, WI

  10. 80R Brian Runde-Platteville, WI

  11. 44 Mike lynch-Platteville, WI


     Limited Stocks

1.     7 Ryan Federman-Mineral Point, WI

2.     88 Ricky Bohland-Prairie Du Chein, WI

3.     59 Roger Winkers-Lancaster, WI

4.     911 Jim Mezera-Eastman, WI

5.     17 Jeff Johnson-Potosi, WI

6.     9 Rob Kuykendall-Wazeka, WI

7.     13 Bill Eisele-Livingston, WI

8.     18B Rob Bradshaw-Cassville, WI

9.     40.5 Mark Mezera-Mt Hope, WI

10. 79 Randy Meyer-Prairie Du Chein, WI

11. 32 Duane Toay-Mineral Point, WI

12. 41l Tim Lindholm-Mineral Point, WI

13. 13X Stan Burris-Beloit, WI

14. 24 Mike Bockhop-Belmont, WI

15. 82 Denny Udelhofen-Dickeyville, WI

16. 77 Joe Corley-Darlington, WI


Farley Flyers

1.     12 Mike Nihles-Lancaster, WI

2.     69 Becky Roth-Hazel Green, WI

3.     14 Rueben Riley-Highland, WI

4.     6 Bob Bomkamp-Highland, WI

5.     83 Tim Barr-Dodgeville, WI

6.     8L Larry Chandler-Montfort, WI

7.     131 Chris Roth-Livingston, WI

8.     6B Brandon Bomkamp-Highland, WI

9.     84 Robert Chandler-Montfort, WI

10. 26 John Chandler-Rewey, WI

11. 86J Jake Yager-Lancaster, WI

12. 77K Kent Johnson-Praire Du Chein, WI

13. 88 Brett Barr-Cobb, WI

14. 15 Matt Stagman-Lancaster, WI

15. 28 Jim Edge-Darlington, WI

16.  71M Craig Enke-Dubuque

17. 18 Steve VanNatta-Platteville, WI

18. 33A Anthony Hall-Fennimore, WI

19.  33 Brian Hall-Fennimore, WI


      Outlaw 4 Cylinders

1.     00j Travis Johnson-Darlington, WI

2.      43 Steve Walker-Darlington, WI

3.     6 Mike Rymarz-Praire Du Chein, WI

4.     27 Nathan Weber-Lancaster, WI

5.     5 Jerry Johnson-Darlington, WI

Home ] Up ]

Copyright � 2001-2004 Simmons Promotions Inc.
Simmons Promotions Inc.
27317 Olde Farley Rd
Farley, Iowa 52046
SPI office phone # 1-563-744-3620
Fax # 1-563-744-3598
Last modified: December 16, 2004

Hit Counter